A Veteran’s Day Ten on Tuesday

Before I get started with today’s regularly scheduled fun post, let me take a moment to pause and thank our veterans. Thank you to everyone who has served, or is serving, in the armed forces to keep our country safe.

The Ten on Tuesday topic for 11/11 is 10 Collections You Have Had Over The Years.

This has the potential to be a very fun list. I’ve collected some pretty random things in my lifetime, and only some of those collections are things I still have. These are in no particular order… just listed as I think of them.

  1. Stamps – I collected stamps before eBay. So all of the weird or rare stamps I got, I got the old-fashioned way: from envelopes, or by purchasing them from the USPS or other mail-order groups. It was fun, and I had some books with all kinds of stamps in them. I have no idea what happened to this collection, but I do know that I lost interest in it after a while. It was fun while it lasted.
  2. Disney Pins – the pin trading kind, only I don’t trade them. (This is one of the current collections.) I just buy the ones I like, and put them in a shadow box to display. I have some ordinary ones, and some that are rare or exclusive. I don’t care about their rarity, though, so much as whether or not I like them.
  3. Rocks – yes, rocks. Some were cool purchased rocks (like a piece of tiger’s eye or pyrite) and others were random bits of things I picked up at a beach or campsite somewhere. At the time I was working on this collection, I knew where I got each one, but I don’t remember any more. I also no longer have this collection – I think it might have gone to my niece, but I’m not sure.
  4. Stationary – technically I use it, so it could be called office supplies, but I have so much of it that it might as well be considered a collection.
  5. Books – I have so many of them that these have to count. Especially since I keep some of them not because I plan to re-read them, but because I want to keep the rest of the series and don’t want to split up the groups. In some cases I have gone so far as to buy a specific edition in order for it to match the rest of the collection.
  6. Spoons – you know those collector’s spoons that you find at touristy places? Well, when I was younger I thought this was a cool idea, so I collected them. I have since stopped getting new ones and am only keeping the ones that still have significance to me.
  7. National Park Stamps – I don’t know if they still have this program, but the (US) national parks service used to have these passports where you could get a stamp (the inked rubber stamp kind) when you visited. You could also buy a pretty sticker version of a passport stamp. I collected both the paid and free versions.
  8. Disney animated movie mugs – I only ever got a handful (I think three) of these, because that’s all that I wanted out of the ones they made. I think they are Peter Pan, Sleeping Beauty, and maybe Cinderella. I still have them, sitting in my curio cabinet, because they are too cool to get rid of, and too special to me to use them and run them through the dishwasher. Maybe someday I will use them for something other than show, but not today. I still like just looking at them too much.
  9. Pressed pennies – my collection is nothing like my mom’s. Mostly because I have more fun getting the pressed penny to give it to her than to collect it myself. She really likes having a collection of them; I much prefer watching the squishing process and feeling the warm penny afterward. Once I’ve looked at it a little bit, though, I’m done.
  10. Foreign coins – I don’t have a big collection of these either, because I tend to only get foreign coins when I travel outside the states, and I don’t do that often. Also, these days, when I do go outside the US I pay for many things with credit. (I know, there’s both good and bad things about that. But I’m not outside the states often and when I am it’s usually to Canada, so I don’t feel it’s too big a risk.)

What about you? Any fun collections you use to have (or still have)? Thanks for stopping by, and Happy Veterans Day!

One thought on “A Veteran’s Day Ten on Tuesday

  1. mrspao says:

    I used to have a stamp collection, too 🙂 I think I collect yarn now!!

Leave a Reply

