ROW80+NaNo Sunday Summary = Words!

Whee! It’s time for  NaNo *AND* ROW80! That means words!

It really should have nothing to do with the word count. I should be writing year-round, and not just during November. But writing during this month has become a habit for me over the years, and if it’s the kick in the pants I need to get my writing habit back on track, I’ll take it. In any case, here’s my ROW Sunday Summary Update (click the link to find the list of other ROWers):

MONTHLY GOALS:
  1. OCT: Prepare SF (novel project codename) characters & plot for NaNoWriMo. Good enough. I didn’t do as much as I had wanted on this, but I did enough.
  2. NOV: Write 50k words or more in SF. Getting there. Not quite on track (I had one and a half bad days last week, so I’m a little behind) but nothing I can’t catch up on as long as I get to it today.
  3. DEC: Finish the first draft of SF. When done, set aside. (No revision allowed until 1 month after completion date.)
WEEKLY GOALS:
  1. Work on writing projects a minimum of 5 days / week. Yes. I wrote 6 out of 7 days this week. Not the NaNo goal of daily writing, but I still met my personal goal.
  2. Visit and comment on a minimum of 7 other ROW blogs / week. I honestly can’t remember, and that probably means “no.”
  3. Write a minimum of 3 blog posts / week. At least one of these should be a ROW update. Yup! I had my Sunday Summary ROW post, my Ten On Tuesday, and my Friday book review. I had meant to get a WIP Weds in there as well, but that was the day I did NOTHING in regards to writing, and there has been no bloggable knitting progress (all gifts) so there ended up being no post on Wednesday.

Progress is good! I’m currently at a NaNo total of 11,035 – which while not the 13,336 that I should have had finished by the end of Saturday to be “on track,” is still quite a lot better than I’ve been doing to date. And it’s still easily in the game for this thing, so I’m not worried. However, it does mean that I’m going to post this and then make another cup of tea to write with…

2 thoughts on “ROW80+NaNo Sunday Summary = Words!

  1. Jackie says:

    I, too, needed the push to write, and it’s been fun to write every day, no matter how little…
    I like how you have both tangible and written projects going on, so that you can switch between two different kinds of thinking/doing.

  2. The great thing about NaNo is that it pushes you to write every day–no stalling, no excuses. It sounds like you’re doing great. We all have an off day now and then, but it doesn’t sound like it slowed you down very much. Good luck with NaNo and ROW80!

Leave a Reply

