Ten on Tuesday ~ Books, Books, Books!

I really like this week’s Ten On Tuesday. It’s right up my alley, because… well, you’ll see.

The Ten on Tuesday topic for 11/4 is 10 Favorite Book Series.

See? My kind of topic. I am going to try to put these in reverse order, so we’ll start with #10 and end with #1, which is theoretically my favorite. But I am fickle, so my favorite as I write this may well be different than my favorite would have been last week, or even my favorite as of the time this gets posted on the blog…

10. The Five Hundred Kingdoms by Mercedes Lackey – These books are a guilty pleasure series for me. I love fairy tale retellings, and – while I feel these are not near Lackey’s earlier work in quality – they are quite acceptable as fun reads.

9. The Lord Of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien – The only reason this is so far down the list is that I haven’t read it since the last of the movies came out, and I’m not sure I will ever read the books again. However, it’s still on my list of favorites. I don’t think that will ever change.

8. The Wishcraft Mysteries by Heather Blake – This is another guilty pleasure read of mine. I’ve bought the books (past the first one, which was a library find) to support the author, but they’re not really keeper books. I don’t know that I will ever re-read them, but they were great fun the first time around.

7. The Pern series by Anne McCaffrey – Note that I did not include Todd’s books… Also, if I could, I would limit this to the earlier Pern books, too. (But I’ve gone on about that before, so I won’t do it again here.)

6. The Princesses of Westfalin series by Jessica Day George – Remember my love of fairy tale retellings? Well, in my opinion these are done much better that the Five Hundred Kingdoms series. However, there is room on my bookshelf for both, and I’m just sad that these books stopped after three instead of continuing longer. Ah well. Keeps them fresh, I guess, and prevents author burnout.

5. The Game trilogy by Eve Silver – The only problem with this one is that I am always too impatient for the next book to be entirely happy with the series. I really enjoyed the first two books, but NOW I STILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR BOOK THREE! Argh.

4. The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne as narrated by Luke Daniels – I might have also enjoyed this series had I read them for myself. However, I don’t know that I would have liked them as much as I do with Luke’s amazing narration.

3. The Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong – I haven’t kept up with Kelley’s recent work (though I do mean to… her Cainsville series sounds awesome and I need to read it) but I really love her early work. My favorite Otherworld books are the first few (minus STOLEN which I dislike), but I do enjoy pretty much the whole series, including the novellas published on her website and as eBooks.

2. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I can’t not include this on my list. The reason it’s so high on my list, though, is because of the first four books. I don’t like the later ones as much (we joke that Harry turns into a teenage girl) but the early books are enough for me.

1. The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross – I’ve really been enjoying these books lately. (Also the eBook novellas.) I can’t say if my love for them will last or if it’s fleeting, but right now they’d have to top my list of favorites. (And I will be honest: while I try to not judge a book by its cover, the artwork on these books is stunning. I love the costuming.)

Gah. And that’s just my current favorites. I don’t have Lackey’s Valdemar or Elemental Masters on there at all, or McCaffrey’s Talent series, not to mention Pratchett or some of my classic keeper books like Madeline L’Engle’s Time Quintet.

What about you? Are your favorites on this list? Do you notice any major omissions from my list?

Leave a Reply

