Ten on Tuesday ~ Fire!

The Ten on Tuesday prompt for 10/21 is 10 Things You Would Save If Your House Was On Fire. For the purpose of this exercise we are assuming that all of your family and pets are safe, we are just focusing on the stuff.

Huh, that’s an interesting one. First of all, it’s something we should all have in the back of our minds to begin with. It’s good to know what we’d need to grab, and where it is. But I am glad that the note was added about family and pets being safe, because they are the obvious first things to save.

So, here’s my list, in an approximate priority order (but not exact, and since they’re not all on the first floor, in the event of a REAL fire/emergency, these are not necessarily the order in which I would ACTUALLY save them).

  1. My purse. It has most of my critical items in it. If I could only save one thing, this would be it. It’s hard to get food or temporary shelter without the items in my purse. And most of the other critical documents in my life are in a fire safe. While this wouldn’t protect them against all fires, it would give them a better shot at survival than my purse has.
  2. Fire safe with important documents. This is a no-brainer. I’ve already planned for minor emergencies by putting all my important docs in here, so it’s a quick-grab item for emergencies.
  3. Box of spare keys. Partly because the key to the above safe is in here.
  4. Photo albums. Mementos like these are one of the things you hear about people missing the most once they lose their worldly goods in emergencies or disasters of one kind or another.
  5. Important jewelry. Not all of it matters, one way or the other (aka value or sentiment). But some of my jewelry has as much importance and as many memories as my photo albums, so this is high up on the list.
  6. Grandma’s paintings. My mom’s mom used to paint, and I have several of her pieces framed and on the walls. These are very important to me, and the only reason they’re not higher up the list is because they are big and realistically they wouldn’t be the first things I grabbed because of their size. Though, they probably should be at #3, right up there after the safe.
  7. My handknits. I could re-make these if it came to it, but I’d try to save them if I could. They’re special to me, since I made them.
  8. Warm clothing. I have a few favorites, and I’d try to grab those, but you never know. However, I do know that I’d need something, whether because it was truly cold or just because I was a bit shocky or in need of comfort.
  9. My laptop & its charging cord. I keep my phone on me and my iPad (along with spare mobile charging devices) in my purse, so I’d already have those, but if I had the time, I’d also grab my laptop. However, it’s not at the top of the list because I could use my phone & tablet for most everything, if it came down to that. And I have many of my most important things that are stored on my laptop backed up to the cloud somewhere, so I hopefully wouldn’t lose too much.
  10. Knitting. This may seem silly, but in a tough situation like “house on fire”, I would need the routine and comfort and activity that knitting provides.

All that said, though, let’s do the “prepare so it doesn’t happen” thing. I don’t want my house to catch on fire, thanks.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Fire!

  1. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- It’s a good thing to think about, but I often wonder how it would actually play out. I’d probably grab something stupid, and have animals clinging to me.

    • Nicole says:

      I know what you mean. It’s good to have a plan, but unless you rehearse that plan, it’s likely to be completely forgotten once the real emergency hits.

      Having animals clinging to you is better than having animals left behind, though.

      On Wed, Oct 22, 2014 at 5:38 AM, Book-Wyrm-Knits wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

