Ten on Tuesday ~ Thriller

The Ten on Tuesday topic for October 7th is 10 Favorite Thriller/Suspense books.

Um. Hmm. This one may be hard. I may need to tweak the definition of “Thriller/Suspense” book, since I don’t read many of those. Let’s see what I can do, though…

  1. LAST GIRL DANCING by Holly Lisle This is probably my favorite thriller (which is not saying too much since I don’t usually read thrillers) and one of my favorite books (saying a lot more), though it’s not high on my re-read list. Too creepy even though I know the ending.
  2. MIDNIGHT RAIN by Holly Lisle I think this was the first in Holly’s paranormal suspense series, but I read it second. Highly enjoyable, though some of it stretched my limits of disbelief.
  3. NIGHT ECHOES by Holly Lisle (Sensing a theme here? I don’t read many thrillers, but I read most if not all of hers.)
  4. I SEE YOU by Holly Lisle … and now I have to get more creative. That’s the end of the list of Holly Lisle thrillers… (It was written third, but is probably my least favorite of the four, so I listed it last.)
  5. JURASSIC PARK by Michael Crichton The movie is referred to as an “Action/Thriller” so I guess that applies to the book, too. I liked this book mostly as a companion to the movie, though. I’m not sure I would have read it without having seen the movie first. But the book makes so much more sense in so many ways. And the endings for certain characters make so much more sense.
  6. TIMELINE by Michael Crichton I’m guessing that since Jurassic Park counts, this will too. I liked the book, but I only really remember that they went to medieval times and there was an armored helmet on the cover.
  7. CHILDREN OF THE NIGHT by Mercedes Lackey This can loosely be considered a thriller, I guess. Anyway, of the Diana Tregarde trilogy, this was the one that I liked the most, and the only one I’ve got on my keeper shelf.
  8. SMOKE AND MIRRORS by Tanya Huff I don’t consider this series thrillers, but it seems that people on Goodreads do. (I consider them “paranormal books I like”. But really, what’s in a name?) This is the second of the series, and while it’s hard for me to determine which is my favorite book in the series, this is the one I found the most thriller-like.
  9. SMOKE AND SHADOWS by Tanya Huff See above for qualifiers about whether this is really a thriller. It kinda is, in my opinion, but mostly because you have nearly no idea what’s going on. But in order to complete my list of ten books, I’m adding this one too. (But I’m not adding the third book, SMOKE AND ASHES, because I can’t in good conscience call it a thriller. It’s a spec-fic book. Not a thriller.)
  10. BLOOD LINES by Tanya Huff This one was also on the Goodreads list of paranormal thrillers, and as with the first two SMOKE books I can kinda agree. I know that when I read this one for the first time, I got to a point where I had to stay up all night in order to finish the book and find out what happened. Does that make it a “thriller/suspense novel”? Maybe. I said I was going to have to get creative.

So there you go. A list of ten books that might qualify as thrillers. They aren’t all favorite books, though some of them are.

What about you? Any suggestions for books I should read, keeping in mind that anything resembling a real thriller will likely keep me up all night freaking out about that weird sound? (Mr. Wyrm says I should read Stephen King’s MR. MERCEDES, but I think we’ve agreed that most of King’s works are way past my tolerance level at this point. My imagination runs wild at the drop of a hat as it is, even without food for thought.)

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Thriller

  1. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- I love horror/thriller, but Jurassic Park, in the movie, freaks me out when those raptors go after the kids.

  2. Chris says:

    I hate horror, so most of the thrillers I’ve read are of the romantic suspense type. 🙂

    Have you read the Samantha Jellicoe series by Suzanne Enoch? Really liked those. Also, for an excellent m/m series (no on-screen sex, either), I recommend The Shadow of the Templar series by M Chandler.

Leave a Reply

