WIP Weds for Banned Book Week

Well, so far so good. I have restarted the sweater sleeve that I had to rip out, and while frogging mohair was enough to drive me a little bit crazy (well, crazier than I already am), it is now done and hopefully I have appeased the knitting gods enough that I can finally finish this project. Because, man. This project almost seems to be cursed. I suppose that, with the way this sweater is going, I’ll now be able to finish it… just to find out that it doesn’t fit. At least I have a variety of people in sizes both larger and smaller than me who I can give it to if that happens. Because while I really want to be able to wear it myself, I want to have it FINISHED more than I want to wear it. I want to see it on SOMEONE. If that someone ends up being my 8-year-old niece, so be it.

I don’t have a picture of the sleeve in progress right now, though, because I couldn’t bear to take another picture of it until I’d passed the point where I had to frog the first version. So it will be next week at the earliest that you get to see more progress on the sleeve.

I do have a project pic of the latest mystery project, but because it’s a gift it will be a close-up and not show off the project-as-a-whole.
IMG_7463.JPG
I’m enjoying this one (another project knit in Chroma for a Christmas gift… I’m sensing a theme) and might knit another one of these when it’s done, too. Easy enough to memorize the pattern. I think I said that last week, but it’s true.

And, the latest – and least related to knitting – WIP of the week is my reading. It is Banned Books Week. I am reading a banned book. (Harry Potter this time around, because I needed something pure fun.)

You should pick up a banned book, too, and read it. Either just enjoy it, or read it and try to determine why it was banned and what the censorship says about our culture. If you read only one book per year, though (and if so I would feel incredibly sad for you), then it should be a banned or challenged book.

2 thoughts on “WIP Weds for Banned Book Week

  1. Love, love, love that Chroma that you’re knitting up. And I must admit that I hadn’t realized it was banned books week – that’s such a brilliant idea. Must re-read A Clockwork Orange… (or was it just the film of the book that was banned, in which case I may have to go dig out Lady Chatterly). Enjoy Harry Potter. 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Pretty colors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

