WIP Weds ~ More Gifts!

So I told you yesterday that I would be showing off another Christmas present today. It’s not much progress yet, but I’ll show you anyway. Here is the (almost) current status of the Rondelay shawl that I’m making as a gift. (I have made a little more progress, but the more recent picture I took looked horrid.) Not saying who this is for yet, just in case. That reveal will have to wait until after the gift has been received.

I’m enjoying the knit, though. It’s a different construction technique – you knit to the middle of your cast-on, then use short-rows to shape a half-circle. And then you add new stitches to one end, and make another half-circle. Really different, and yet (currently) super interesting. (Let’s see how I feel at the end of the shawl… I might get sick of the short rows…)

This is knit using the Seaweed colorway of KnitPicks Chroma fingering, and it makes a more subtle shawl than most of the Rondelays that I’ve seen. I think I’m going to really like the effect. Hope I can still manage to gift it when it’s done.

And another project that you’ve heard me talk about but haven’t seen yet:

Bacon!

The bacon scarf I’m crocheting for a good friend of Mr. Wyrm! Mmmm, bacon… However, for whatever reason, I don’t like carrying the extra yarns along in the work as much as I thought I would, so it’s becoming more of an intarsia piece than I’d planned. Oh well. The ends are still easier to deal with in crochet than knitting.

And while this one does have a (self-imposed) time-limit, it’s nowhere near as bad as adding another Christmas deadline. Thank goodness. It’s also not a secret, so you will be able to see the full progress with no secrecy filters imposed.

Leave a Reply

