52 Books 2014: Week 35

Push (The Game #2)
by Eve Silver
narrated by Amy Rubinate

So it seems that I have missed adding this book to my “books I’ve read” list and neglected to write a review for it when I first finished the book. I wonder if that’s because I was so caught up in PUSH that I lost track of who I had and hadn’t told about it.

Anyway, I did read (listen to) it and loved it. Except the ending, which has a bit of a cliffhanger. However, if you read book 1 (RUSH) and weren’t prepared for another cliffhanger in book 2, then you were just being silly. Because just as there is a cliffhanger at the end of book 1, there is a cliffhanger at the end of book 2. I won’t spoil either of the two for you, since I really do think that any readers of mine would enjoy this series (at least as much of it as has been published to date; I can’t speak for future books since I haven’t read them) and I want to give you the chance to read them for yourself. However, I will tell you that book 2 does resolve the cliffhanger for book 1. Nicely, too, though it adds in some more questions than it solves.

Isn’t that, though, one mark of a good story? To answer questions with yet more questions, without it seeming like a cheat? And this book (series) doesn’t seem like a cheat at all. I’ve really enjoyed it so far, and am anxiously awaiting book 3. I’ve read other books by Eve Silver, but the others haven’t drawn me in as completely as this one. (I did really enjoy DRIVEN, though, if anyone’s looking for a rec of one of Eve’s more adult books. Because in comparison, The Game series is a YA series for sure.)

Another mark of a good story (and author!) is that it (she) can keep you guessing about the mysteries. Things have happened in this series that I expected to go one way, and they went another. It’s a wonderful rollercoaster of events and emotions that seems so realistic I’m sometimes surprised that I don’t have a glowing health meter on a bracelet on my wrist. (I’m glad of this, but still. Nicely done.)

And the narration meshes with the story that you’d think Amy Rubinate is actually living it out as she reads. She does a great job of conveying the characters’ emotions and fears and hopes as she reads. I really want to find more books she has narrated and listen to them because she’s done such a good job with these.

Leave a Reply

