FO: Dragonfly Socks

Lookie here! Another FO post!

This time we have the Dragonfly Socks. These were so much fun to knit!
20140707-001138-698054.jpg
I’ll admit, most of the reason these were fun was the yarn. It’s so colorful and pretty and – as Chris wondered – squooshy. Wonderful, wonderful stuff. I love it.

But the pattern was nice, too. It was easy to follow, easy to memorize, easy to knit, and still so much more interesting than a plain vanilla sock. (Not that there’s anything wrong with vanilla socks. I almost decided to knit this yarn into a vanilla sock in order to better look at the yarn. But I think I made the right choice to go with this pattern.)

I think I only made three modifications to this pattern. (I’m not counting the cast-on edge, which I rarely count as a modification anyway. Cast-ons are rarely an official part of the pattern.)
20140707-001138-698289.jpg
Anyway. The first modification I know I made was to continue the pattern alongside the toe decreases. The pattern says to finish the pattern repeats and then to decrease for the toe. I decided to start the toe decreases on pattern row 3, so that the decreases followed the yo’s toward the point of the toe.

The second one was after the last pattern row, before switching to stockinette for the rest of the toe, I worked a “yo, centered double decrease, yo” to finish the pattern. I like the way it looks well enough that, had I realized it beforehand, I might have modified the entire pattern to add this extra row each time. But as it was, putting it on just the last time was enough. Even though that part will be IN A SHOE and ALMOST NEVER SEEN. Oh well. I know it’s there.
20140707-001137-697784.jpg
And the third mod was the heel decreases. I moved them from where they were written to the sole of the foot. I did a double sole decrease as described in Turtle Girl’s blog, here. I think I like the way it turned out. I definitely like the way it kept the dragonfly pattern smooth and pretty.
20140707-001137-697927.jpg
SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project page)

PATTERN: Dragonfly Socks
DESIGNER: Jocelyn Sertich of Cavyshops
YARN: Ella Rae Lace Merino
NEEDLES: US 1.5 (2.5 mm)
START/END DATES: April 15 – July 2, 2014
MODS: toe decreases at the same time as last pattern repeat, work a centered double decrease on the last pattern repeat (see above for specific details)

3 thoughts on “FO: Dragonfly Socks

  1. If I wore socks… LOL. Love ’em.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- I love the decreases on the sole. Clever.

    If you do a sock in a pattern, it seems to go much faster.

Leave a Reply

