WIP Weds ~ Spin With Me

It’s WIP Wednesday! But I have no knitting to show you. (There has been knitting… and frogging. I’ve been knitting the “And So Are You” shawl, which I love, and hope to have done in not too terribly long. And I frogged the Chevron Gauntlets that were in my WIP bag for way too long. They were too small, so I frogged them and restarted in the bigger of the 2 sizes. And then they were too big. I need to find a new yarn for that pattern, and a new pattern for that yarn. But the combo isn’t working with my hand size and knitting tension.)

Anyway. I do have a WIP to show you, because it’s time for the Tour De Fleece! Yay!

#tourdefleece2014

I don’t spin very often. I would like to spin more. But this year, at least, I am trying to get some serious spinning progress during the Tour de Fleece. (And for those who don’t know, yes: this is related to the Tour de France. Theoretically we’re supposed to spin our wheels while we watch the cyclists spin theirs. But many of us – possibly most of us, me included – spin for the sake of the fiber and don’t care much about the bicycle race.)

So anyway, this year I started the TdF with some absolutely luscious fiber. This is a set of rolags blended by BohoKnitterChic (you can find her on Etsy, http://bohoknitterchic.etsy.com/ ) in a Hunger Games inspired colorway named “May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor.” It’s sparkly and soft and wonderful.

#tourdefleece2014

This is the first time I’ve spun using rolags, and one of the first times I really tried using the long draw. It took a while to get used to it, but I liked it when I got a rhythm going. My homespun yarn is still always thick and thin, though, never as smooth as store-bought. Some say that’s a good thing because it shows character. I’m going to go with that.

#tourdefleece2014

So there were six rolags in this batch, and I spun each one up as a singles and then plied two together. Which means I have 3 skeins of this soft bouncy yarn. Love it.

I was originally hoping to make a sweater out of this, but it looks like she can’t do custom orders right now (and there’s no more of this in the shop, since I bought it too long ago) so I’ll have to make something else. Maybe a cowl. It would be a MARVELOUS cowl.

#tourdefleece2014

Anyway, this is spinning project #1 for the 2014 Tour de Fleece. I’m already more successful than I have been for prior TdFs, since I actually finished a batch of fiber this time. But I’m hoping to be much more successful than this, even, and get some more stuff spun up. I have a nice stash of spinning fiber just waiting for me…

One thought on “WIP Weds ~ Spin With Me

  1. The colors are gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you craft from this 🙂

Leave a Reply

