WIP Weds ~ of Dreambirds and baby sweaters

I’ve been working on a couple of different knitting projects this week. Amazingly, my recent go-to project, the Dragonfly Socks, have gotten very little work put in. Not because I like them any less, but because I picked up my Dreambird Shawl at knit night last Thursday, and have been working almost exclusively on that ever since.

20140610-220209-79329350.jpg
I do love that shawl. I’m hoping to be finished with it soon (by relative measures of “soon”) so that I can wear it this fall. I know I had originally wanted to wear it this spring, but that time has passed. Looking at how much yarn I have left, I think it’s pretty obvious that I’m going to run out of the gray tweed long before I run out of the fun colorful Chroma. Sigh. I had hoped when I started this project that it would be the other way around – I would use up every last bit of the Chroma. But… I also don’t want this to become too huge a monster. I think it will end up a perfect size, so I’m not really complaining. And I’m sure I can find something else to do with leftover Chroma.

20140610-220339-79419561.jpg
Another picture because, you know, I can. And it’s so pretty.

I’ve also been working on the baby sweater present this week. Mostly because I was reminded last week that the baby is due THIS MONTH and the sweater’s not quite done yet. I feel really dumb about this one. I had the body of the sweater done for ages, just waiting on the sleeves. And they’re such cute little sleeves.

20140610-220339-79419685.jpg
I finished the first sleeve in one evening. The second took me a few days, because I didn’t have as large a chunk of time to dedicate to it. But still, both sleeves took less than a week. I could have been done with this sweater a long time ago, but I procrastinate too much.

20140610-220520-79520507.jpg
Now I just have to sew in the ends and add the buttons. I should be able to mail this off by this weekend, so that it arrives before the baby does. It better arrive before the baby does. Geez. If it doesn’t I’ll have done WAY too much procrastinating. Ah well. Time to sew in ends…

Leave a Reply

