FO ~ First Herb

Today will be the first FO post in a while, yay! Before I post about the new one, though, let’s take a moment to revisit all the items I’ve finished this year to date:

  1. Coffee (& tea) Cup Cozy
  2. Eli-Duett Shawl
  3. Schnecken Mitts
  4. Eliina Shawl
  5. Owling Mitts
  6. Galder Socks

Wow. That’s quite a respectable list. And now there’s one more to add to it!

20140605-115526-42926603.jpg
That’s First Herb, by Tanya Gobruseva, and it’s slated to be a present for a friend of mine this summer.

I didn’t make any real mods to this pattern. The only thing I did that could conceivably be considered a mod was I used a crochet hook to do the nupps instead of the knitting needles. But I really see that more as a technique instead of a modification.

20140605-115526-42926461.jpg
This was a fun pattern to knit. I am a huge fan of shawls that start on the long end and keep getting smaller. (Well, I am a huge fan of them EXCEPT when I am in the middle of the cast-on process. Then I hate them.) (And granted, there’s no graceful way to make one of these kinds of shawls any bigger once you have already started knitting it. You can’t just keep going until you run out of yarn.)

Would I knit it again? Maybe. It has a nice shape and an easy enough to follow pattern. But it also wasn’t such an amazing knit that I must make 12 more, RIGHT NOW. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great pattern, especially for the price (free). But there are other shawls with similar construction and a different lace edging that I also want to try, so if I’m going to knit this again it will be later, once I’ve tried some of the other similar shawls.

20140605-120513-43513369.jpg
And as a certainty: if I were to knit it again, it would be with a solid color yarn. This was not the best choice of yarn for the pattern. The nupps are all but lost, and I think even the rest of the lace part (though it looks darn good after blocking) would look even better in a solid. Still. I picked this yarn (Serenity Sock) for its color and washability, so I wasn’t thinking about the lace when I chose it.

Anyway, I am rather pleased with how this turned out. I think the person I give it to will be as well.

SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project page)

PATTERN: first herb
DESIGNER: Tanya Gobruseva
YARN: Serenity Sock Weight Prints by Premier Yarns
NEEDLES: US 7 (used a US 10 for the cast-on)
START/END DATES: April 2, 2014 – May 10, 2014
MODS: None.

Leave a Reply

