52 Books 2014: Week 22

Dark Frost (Mythos Academy #3)
Jennifer Estep
(YA, contemporary fantasy, mythology)

This third book in the Mythos Academy series took my less than a day to finish. Mostly because I started reading it after dinner and didn’t put it down until I was done, delaying my bedtime and putting everything else off until the following day. But it was a great read, and worth it.

I think this is my favorite of these books so far. It had the least repetition of books 2 & 3, but that is to be expected. It also had more twists than I expected, which is always nice for me. I was able to predict more of books 1 & 2 than I predicted of book 3, and the surprises do keep the pages turning.

I also loved that Gwen is more into her role as Nike’s champion now. She might not always understand why she was chosen, and she might not always like it, but she is trying to do some good with the gifts the goddess gave her. I just hope that the thing she was able to do with her gift at the end of the book doesn’t set her back too much in future books. (New twists to abilities have a way of doing that in this genre.)

What else did I enjoy… I love the way that other characters are behaving like teenagers in this book (in the whole series too, but this book more so than the others so far) and not just like superheroes. I like that Daphne is behaving moody enough to be a believable teenaged girl. I like that the boys are believable as teenaged boys. And I like that Gwen has a variety of friends by this book.

Also, I enjoyed the stuff with Nott. I won’t go into details to avoid spoilers, but I’ll just say that was some of my favorite stuff from this book. And the resolution to it worked really well.

As the third book in a six book series, the end of this one marks the mid-point in the series. And it’s suitably dark. (Not too much darkness, which is good because it fits the tone of the series. But it’s dark enough to work.) I look forward to seeing how the next three books continue.

Leave a Reply

