April Camp NaNo Summary

So at the beginning of the month, I mentioned that I was going to be doing Camp NaNoWriMo. And then I didn’t post anything else about it. Mostly because I’ve been slacking a lot more than I intended.

Don’t get me wrong. I have been writing. Just not nearly as much as I had planned. I have written probably a total of 5,000 words on the story (and the notes for later sections), and that’s 5K more than I wrote last month. So that is progress, and good progress. It’s a step in the right direction. It’s just not the jump-start that I had hoped would happen.

And I hate to keep throwing excuses around, but I’d have to guess that the Evil Day Job is the biggest thing hindering me at this point. When I get home from a full 8 hour work day, plus 1.5 – 2 hours total commute time, I’m tired and don’t want to do much of anything. And that’s on days when I don’t need to squeeze in a trip to the grocery store or a stop at the gym. And sadly, the writing is the thing that has been getting squeezed out of my schedule at this point.

I need to find a way to fit it into my schedule permanently. Sometimes I have been writing on my work breaks or my lunch breaks. But other times the last thing I want to do on my breaks is more typing. (On those days I knit or read instead.) And sometimes I do something at the gym where I am still able to use my iPad for writing stuff – like walking on the treadmill (with no running involved) or using one of the stationary bikes. But that’s splitting my attention, and so even when I do make some progress I can’t get too involved in the story because I’m too distracted.

There are a few options I’m looking into. One is simply cutting out most of my extra-curricular activities. I’ve already been visiting my knit group less because it’s such a long drive home from there on a work night. I may cut those visits out entirely, and only go to our weekend S’n’Bs. Another option is making better use of my gym time (doing things such as yoga classes and weight training instead of just tooling along on the treadmill) so that I feel more productive while I’m there and get energized instead of just more tired. And I’m looking at trying to cut my commute time down. But of course, the job search takes time and energy that I could otherwise put towards writing. So it’s not exactly immediately helpful, even if it will be great in the long run.

Anyway, progress is being made, even if it isn’t yet progress that I remember to be proud of. It doesn’t seem like much. I just need to remember that baby steps are better than no steps at all.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

