52 Books 2014: Week 14

Close Knit Killer (Knitting Mysteries #11)
Maggie Sefton
(mystery)

Unlike in the prior book in this series, I didn’t know whodunit. I did know who-didn’t-dunit, but it was nice to be a little surprised as to the real culprit. So in that respect, I liked this book better than some in the series. (A little mystery is good in a murder mystery.) In other respects, though, it didn’t hold my interest as much as it could have. Perhaps because I had just read #10, or perhaps because a series (ANY series) can only go on for so long and keep me interested. I’m not sure why. But I did find myself skimming over sections of this book, which is unusual for me with such a quick read.

I found it interesting that Sefton used the real-life fires in this book. (Spoiler alert?) Granted, she’s been using the real recession for nearly the whole series. But that’s a very general real-life scenario. It was interesting that she used something more specific – and that would show you a little of what her fiction landscape translates to in real Colorado – in the series. I don’t know if I like it, or not. In some respects I want my fiction to tie in to real life, but I’m not always sure. I’m also not positive I like having a cliff-hanger in a cozy mystery book.

Anyway. Will I read the next book? Maybe. I don’t know. It’s been a while since I read book #9, and it was even longer since I’d read #8. So when #12 comes around (which we know it will due to the cliff-hanger) I may pick it up. Or I may wait some few years. Or I might skip it entirely. We’ll have to see how I feel at the time. I can tell you that, enjoyable as I find this series, I’m just about done with the world. And that’s no reflection on Sefton’s writing – I get sick of even my favorite writers when they stick to the same world and same characters.

One thought on “52 Books 2014: Week 14

  1. You just hit the nail on the head as to why I stopped reading Sue Grafton’s alphabet series. I loved the main character and her narration of the stories but just got worn out on the world. Perhaps these kinds of series are better read spaced out.

    Thanks for the review. Serious kudos to you for sticking with a review a week!

Leave a Reply

