52 Books 2014: Week 12

I have been way behind with my scheduled blogs lately. Several reasons, none of them anything you need worry about. Mostly me procrastinating. But, anyway, here’s a review I was supposed to post last week.

Divergent
Veronica Roth
(YA, urban fantasy, dystopian)

I didn’t plan on reading DIVERGENT just before the movie came out, but that’s what ended up happening anyway. I think I’m glad I did; even though I guessed most of the twists before they happened, I’m glad I got to discover the rest of them at book-pace instead of movie-pace.

HOWEVER – I am so glad this is now a movie. It reads like a movie. It is intense enough to be a movie. But I do wonder what they will have to cut to make it short enough to be a movie. There’s a lot of plot here. I’m also pretty sure I don’t agree with at least some of the casting, but that’s neither here nor there.

The book itself… Well, there have been lots of comparisons to the Hunger Games series. And rightly so. There are many similarities. Both feature young adults. Both have a (strong) female heroine. Both are set in a dystopian future US. Both have themes that seem anti-government (or at least anti-THEIR-government). Also? I like them both. (Though I haven’t read the whole Divergent series yet. Just book one so far.)

My biggest complaints are these:

1. It’s a little too long. Very enjoyable book, but by the end I was ready for it to be over. This could, however, be related to my biggest problem, which was…

2. I listened to the audiobook version, and had issues with the reader. I loved her for Tris’s voice. She was great for the main character’s spoken and thought lines. Perfect. But the narration was sometimes hard to separate from the dialogue, because they were spoken essentially the same. And very few of the characters had distinguishable voices. Most of them sounded about the same, so it was hard to tell who was speaking.

Anyway, I will be continuing with the series, but I will be reading it myself.

One thought on “52 Books 2014: Week 12

  1. I’d never heard of this prior to seeing ads for the movie. I’ll have to look into it. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

