ROW Update: Week #9

Here’s my progress report for the Round of Words this week…

Year-long Goals

  • The (Knitting) Year of the WIP. Here are the finished projects:
    1. Coffee (& tea) Cup Cozy
    2. Eli-Duett Shawl
    3. Schnecken Mitts
    4. Eliina Shawl
    5. Owling Mitts
    6. Galder Socks
  • 52 book (reviews) in 52 weeks.
    1. Tricked by Kevin Hearne
    2. Simon’s Cat by Simon Tofield
    3. Trapped by Kevin Hearne
    4. More Cute Stories by Rolly Crump
    5. All Wound Up by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
    6. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    7. The Girl With The Iron Touch by Kady Cross
    8. Hunted by Kevin Hearne
    9. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
    10. George Carlin Reads To You by George Carlin

Round (aka quarter)-long Goals

  • Figure out what story to write. ~ Still no time spent thinking about this. Starting to get discouraged by the number of things I need/want to do, and the amount of time I have available to me. It’s time to do something about the stupid number of hours I spend commuting.
  • Read a craft book. ~I’m reading CHAPTER AFTER CHAPTER by Heather Sellers.
    • Do any applicable exercises that go with the book. ~ In progress. But no additional progress – just what I’d done last week. Hopefully I’ll do better this week.

Monthly Goals

  • (At least) 1 good visit with family per month.
    • January: There was a Disneyland trip in there, which was fun. It wasn’t with the entire family, but enough of it that I think it counts.
    • February: We held a party for my dad, that was great fun.
  • (At least) 1 paper book read, and 1 audio book listened to.
    • Paper: ~ January: All Wound Up by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee; February: The Girl With The Iron Touch by Kady Cross
    • Audio: ~ January: Trapped by Kevin Hearne; February: Hunted by Kevin Hearne
  • Update my book library in LibraryThing. Audio books and e-books too.
    • January: partial progress. I did this earlier in the month, but didn’t continue it at the end of the month.
    • February:Done! I’m not sure I want to continue maintaining my LibraryThing, though. It seems like there are too many things out there I keep up already, and I rarely use it. We’ll see. I’ll keep updating it until I decide.

Weekly Goals

  • Spend a minimum of 3 hours per week on writing projects. Any writing projects. ~ Still nothing much. Some brain time, but no actual writing.
  • Go to the gym 3 times per week minimum. I’m not setting a specific goal of what to do each time I go, but I hope to have weekly focus on weights, cardio, and the yoga class I want to start. ~ Yes! Weekday gym time FTW!
  • Post a minimum of 3 blog posts per week.
    1. My Oscar-delayed ROW update
    2. A Ten On Tuesday post about the Oscars
    3. A FO post with the Galder Socks and Owlings Mitts
    4. The weekly book review, this week George Carlin Reads To You
  • Review one book per week on the blog. ~ George Carlin Reads To You
  • Maintain my books read for the week in Goodreads. ~ Yes. I’m pretty sure I did that this week.
  • Read and comment on at least 7 blogs, at least 3 of which should be other ROWers. ~ Yes! I did this! (I think. Sigh. Too distracted lately.)

Have a great week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “ROW Update: Week #9

  1. Good luck with your ROW80 goals. I’ve been working on a list of craft books I want to read/reread this year. I’m curious to hear your thoughts on CHAPTER AFTER CHAPTER.

  2. Nice update Nicole, way to go! And look at all those projects you’re crossing off your list. Wishing you continued progress.

Leave a Reply

