FO Thursday ~ Galder and Owlings

(Photo heavy today, sorry!)

It seems I have been churning out the FOs lately. I suppose that’s because I HAVE. It’s the first week of March, and I already have 5 items on my “finished knitting projects” list.

Let’s make it 6, shall we?

yarma

Here’s the latest finished project, my Galder socks. These are the quickest sock knit I have done in a while. I’m not sure if they’ve been a quick knit because I’ve been working almost exclusively on them, or because they just went that fast. I think it’s a little of both, because I noticed they were working up quickly even during knit nights when I hang out with my S’n’B for an hour or two.

yarma

I love the cables on these socks. They’re just so fun, and the way it splits to go down the heel is great. Very well designed. There was only one issue I had, and that was with the needle-specific stitch count on the heel turns, but that could have been because it was written for DPNs and I was using magic loop. I’m not sure, but it didn’t really impact anything. I just needed to reshuffle a couple of stitches here and there, and everything was fine again. The pattern made it very obvious how many stitches were supposed to be where, so all it took was me looking at the sock vs. the pattern, and making it match again.

yarma

It was nicely designed, too. Since the cables mirror each other, it seemed like there would be tons of charts in order to get all the variations, but there really weren’t. Everything was clear and understandable. I would happily knit something else by Mari-Liisa Varila, or even knit another pair of these socks.

(But if I knit another pair, they will be for me. This pair is the first Christmas Knit of 2014. I can’t take credit for starting early, though. They were supposed to be gifted in 2013, but when I realized I had too many other things to finish, they got set aside half-finished. And so now I seem to be “really on top of things” when it’s just polishing up the procrastination to make myself look good. Hmm. I wasn’t supposed to tell you that. Pretend I didn’t say anything.)

yarma

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project):

PATTERN: Galder
DESIGNER: Mari-Liisa Varila
YARN: Schachenmayr nomotta Regia Cotton Surf Color
NEEDLES: US 1½ – 2.5 mm (1 long circ)
START/END DATES: August 3, 2013 – March 5, 2014
MODS: I don’t know if this is a mod, but I carried the cable as far down the foot as I could, all the way through the toe decreases. I even kept up the purl stitches all the way down. ALSO – it seems I knit the first sock with a couple extra stitches, and then forgot to do this for the second sock. Hmm. Oops?

Also, I don’t think I ever shared the specs on the Owlings mitts on the blog. Here are the vitals (and a link to my Ravelry project):

yarma

PATTERN: Owlings
DESIGNER: Kerrie James
YARN: Aslan Trends Guanaco
NEEDLES: US 6 – 4.0 mm
START/END DATES: December 19, 2013 – February 26, 2014
MODS: none

yarma

Leave a Reply

