52 Books 2014: Week 9

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened
Allie Brosh
(humor)

I have wanted a copy of this book ever since I found out it was going to BE a book. Allie’s humor online was so funny, that I wanted not only to support her, but also to have a piece of that funny to access whenever I wanted it, whether the internet was working or not. And now I have that. And it’s everything I hoped it would be.

I do have to admit that I don’t have her website memorized. So while I know that some of these are reprinted from her site, I can’t say for sure which of them are. (Some I know, of course. Like the God of Cake, and the “Clean ALL the things!” panel.) And therefore reading many of them came with the joy of rediscovery, rather than knowing exactly what was coming. (I did remember details of the two I mentioned above and the general idea of her notes on depression, but that’s about it.) So even though I have read several of these before, it was like discovering all of them all over again.

However, I’m not going to tell you how long it took me to realize that each of the different articles (is that the best thing to call them? How about strips? Essays?) was done on a different color paper than the one before. I had noticed the colorful paper, but in a “ooh, shiny!” way and not with the sense that there was any rhyme or reason to it. Right. I was just enjoying the experience, I guess.

So, is this worth buying even though much of it is online already? In a word, YES. As I mentioned with the Simon’s Cat books, buying a hard copy is a great way to support the artist/author you enjoy. But in addition to that, there is also plenty of new material. And it’s a lot of fun to see it on paper instead of on the screen. A printed copy just adds something different to the images.

I hope Allie does a second book, because I really want to own an alot. I suppose I could knit an alot, but that would be a lot of work. I’ll just wait (and hope!) for the book.

2 thoughts on “52 Books 2014: Week 9

  1. Chris says:

    Everyone I know who’s read this shares your feelings alot. 😉

  2. Hmmm, looks like I must check this out 🙂 Another great review Nicole.

Leave a Reply

