Ten on Tuesday ~ Olympic

Today’s Ten On Tuesday prompt is “10 thoughts on the 2014 Winter Olympics.” Hmm. That will be interesting, since – oh. Wait. The reason why it will be interesting is actually one of my thoughts about the Olympics. So here we go:

1. I’m not watching the Olympics. So all I really know about it, I see from the news and Facebook.

2. I kinda miss watching the Olympics, especially the winter ones, but they’re just not the same as they used to be. They’re too political now, and I don’t just mean the actual games. I also (mostly?) mean the televising of them. If the telecast of the Olympics was always this dumb, I didn’t notice it before. But why do they only play the things the US does well in (or is predicted to do well in) during times when people want to watch TV? Why don’t they show other sports, too? And why do they only show the US athletes in some events? It drives me nuts, and I don’t want to support NBC for it.

3. But not wanting to support NBC’s coverage choices is not the main reason I stopped watching the Olympics. I stopped watching because I stopped getting regular TV channels, and it’s too much bother to find alternative ways to watch.

4. This Olympics is getting more press (in my circles) for the stray dogs and hotel mishaps than the athletes themselves. Kinda misses the whole point of the event.

5. The Olympics are expensive. I don’t see why ANYONE would want to host them.

6. It doesn’t seem the same to me now that Olympic athletes don’t have to be amateurs. I have no real reason for this.

7. The opening ceremonies in recent years have seemed way too extravagant. I didn’t see this year’s, but from what I’ve heard it was no different.

8. In recent years I’ve heard enough interviews with Olympic athletes to realize that they’re not immune to the media’s idiot-lens. It seems that the things that get the most press are people saying (or doing) dumb things, and the smart, intelligent people get overlooked.

9. I can’t imagine training all of my life to compete like that. Partly I’m not that competitive, but mostly I wouldn’t want to be on the global stage.

10. The only thing I really miss about the Olympics this year is knitting during it. I keep thinking that I want to participate in the Ravellinc Games (or whatever name they’ve decided on now), and then I never do. But you know what? There’s too much politics involved in the Ravelry version of the Olympics, too. I’m probably better off just continuing to avoid them both.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Olympic

  1. With boys in the house there doesn’t seem to be a way to avoid the games all together. My watching has been so sporadic that I haven’t noticed the US centered programing, however, that does not surprise me.

    I completely agree with you on the pros competing. I think it completely defeats the purpose of the games.

Leave a Reply

