FO: Eli-Duett

So, now I am going to show you something knitted – not a WIP, but a FO. This particular FO has been done for about a month now, but I didn’t want to show it to you without being positive that the recipient had gotten the gift, and then when I did hear that she’d gotten it (about 2 weeks ago, maybe?) I forgot that I hadn’t blogged it yet. Until now.

So, now you get to see the finished Eli-Duett that I made for my Mother-In-Law’s birthday.

yarma

It turned out very nice, and if I didn’t tell you, you’d never guess the trouble I had with it. You see, I kept running out of yarn. I think I hid it pretty well, though. I planned to use two colors from the start, because I knew I wasn’t going to have enough of the first yarn to make a whole shawl. (That first yarn was given to me with very big hints that my MIL loved the color and wouldn’t it make a nice shawl?) I did think that I’d have enough of it to do half of the shawl, maybe, hopefully. So I tried it, with plans to use the natural Chroma for the edging.

And I ran out of the pretty teal yarn about half-way to two-thirds through the section I’d hoped to complete. But I happened to have some Noro that coordinated perfectly in the scrap bag that a knitting friend had given me to use in my sock yarn blanket. So I thought maybe that would be enough to finish.

Nope. On to yarn #3, some Knit Picks Gloss fingering weight yarn that had once wanted to be a particularly tricky pair of cabled socks. (The socks were frogged, but the yarn remained.) And this time I had plenty of yarn. The striping looked pretty intentional, too. Color me amazed, because NONE of this part was planned.

yarma

Then I switched to the natural yarn for the edging. I had bought some sparkly gold stuff to hold together with the Chroma, because shiny! It was too pretty to pass up, and it’s a small company that seems worth supporting, and I found it at my favorite local yarn shop, which is also worth supporting. So, I knit merrily along on the edging, with no worries about having enough yarn.

Silly me.

Of course I ran out. I’d gotten at least two-thirds of the way through the lace edging before running out of the Chroma, so that was something. But I was NOT going to change yarns part-way through this one. This edging needed to be in the same color, as far as I was concerned. Luckily Knit Picks hadn’t discontinued the yarn I needed, so a short while later I had ordered a new skein and was knitting along again. Smooth sailing from here out, right?

Wrong. I ran out of the gold sparkly stuff with something like ten rows left.

There was no way I was going to give up now. I hoofed it back to my LYS, and was so very relieved to see that they had more of my yarn. (I was so happy that I may have picked up a skein of the stuff in silver to make something for myself, later.) Now, with two full or nearly full skeins of yarn, I figured I had to be safe… but I knit the last few rows of the shawl super-fast, just in case. You never know. I think all my troubles were due to those mystical yarn thieves that come steal yarn (or inches on your sweater) when you’re not looking.

Full-length Eli-Duett

(Is it any wonder I kept running out of yarn? Look how huge the thing is!)

At any rate, the shawl turned out lovely. I am super pleased with it, and so is my Mother-In-Law. However, next time someone wants me to make them a shawl? I’m going to buy the yarn after picking the pattern. And I’m going to get extra.

yarma

THE SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project)

PATTERN: Eli-Duett
DESIGNER: Sue Berg
YARN:
Shawl body: Zealana Performa Kiwi in teal, Noro something-or-other, Knit Picks Gloss Fingering in Woodland Sage
Lace edging: Knit Picks Choma Fingering in Bare, Be Sweet Grace + Style in Gold
NEEDLES: US 5 (3.75 mm)
START/END DATES: November 23, 2013 – January 14, 2014
MODS: None save the abovementioned color changes.

2 thoughts on “FO: Eli-Duett

  1. LOL, if you hadn’t said anything I would never have guessed. It turned out lovely!

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Definitely a shawl with drama issues! but worth it in the end, that’s really
    lovely.

Leave a Reply

