ROW Update: Week #5

Here’s my progress report for the Round of Words this week. A bit late because I was doing a lot of thinking (and some serious knitting, the results of which you will see shortly), but it’s still Sunday here. So there.

Year-long Goals

  • The (Knitting) Year of the WIP. Here are the finished projects:
    1. Coffee (& tea) Cup Cozy
    2. Eli-Duett Shawl
    3. Schnecken Mitts
  • 52 book (reviews) in 52 weeks.
    1. Tricked by Kevin Hearne
    2. Simon’s Cat by Simon Tofield
    3. Trapped by Kevin Hearne
    4. More Cute Stories by Rolly Crump
    5. All Wound Up by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
    6. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Round (aka quarter)-long Goals

  • Work on my new collaborative web-based writing project.
    • Brainstorming a plot: ~ I’ve started helping with this, but the rest of the group still seems busy with other matters, so it’s slow going.
    • Working out a schedule of deadlines: ~ See above. I can’t do the schedule by myself. There was some minor action from my collaborators, so this is not cut. Still no real progress made on it, though..
  • Get my 2 main characters firmed up for SCVH. ~ I’m just not feeling this story right now. It has too much baggage already, and I’m not feeling like an experienced enough writer to handle that. You know how when you stop weight training for a while (say a long while) and then you go back to it, and you can’t handle the amount of weight you used to be able to do? Yeah. It’s like that. I need something simple and exciting and fun to work on right now. I need to build my writing muscles back up, and I’m not going to do that with a story that already has a ton of baggage. I will get back to SCVH someday, if it’s still a compelling idea later. Same with so many other projects that have been set aside. But right now, I need something without that baggage. I want to spend the rest of this Round working on what that “something” might be.
  • Read a craft book. ~I’m starting CHAPTER AFTER CHAPTER by Heather Sellers.
    • Do any applicable exercises that go with the book.

Monthly Goals

  • (At least) 1 good visit with family per month.
    • January: There was a Disneyland trip in there, which was fun. It wasn’t with the entire family, but enough of it that I think it counts.
  • (At least) 1 paper book read, and 1 audio book listened to.
    • Paper: ~ January: All Wound Up by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee; February: The Girl With The Iron Touch by Kady Cross
    • Audio: ~ January: Trapped by Kevin Hearne
  • Update my book library in LibraryThing. Audio books and e-books too.
    • January: partial progress. I did this earlier in the month, but didn’t continue it at the end of the month.

Weekly Goals

  • Spend a minimum of 3 hours per week on writing projects. Any writing projects. ~ Kinda? I did spend a lot of time THINKING about the state of my projects this week, and came to some hard decisions about what I’m NOT doing. (See above.) I didn’t do any actual writing, though, because I was so indecisive for so much of this week.
  • Go to the gym 3 times per week minimum. I’m not setting a specific goal of what to do each time I go, but I hope to have weekly focus on weights, cardio, and the yoga class I want to start. ~ Only twice again this week. It’s hard to go to the gym on weekends when your husband is home sick and you’re not feeling 100% yourself and bed is so warm. Weekdays are so much easier for me to go to the gym, since I go after work and I’m already out and about.
  • Post a minimum of 3 blog posts per week.
    1. (Belated) ROW Week 4 Update.
    2. Ten On Tuesday: I am…
    3. 52 Books in 52 Weeks: The Graveyard Book
    4. Caturday! ~ a long overdue post featuring Suzy-cat
  • Review one book per week on the blog. ~ The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • Maintain my books read for the week in Goodreads. ~ Done!
  • Read and comment on at least 7 blogs, at least 3 of which should be other ROWers. ~ Yes! I did this one for sure this week!

Have a great week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “ROW Update: Week #5

  1. mrspao says:

    Well done on your progress!

  2. “I’m just not feeling this story right now. It has too much baggage already, and I’m not feeling like an experienced enough writer to handle that.” ~ I have a number of stories that fall in this group! I hope you find that fun new shiny Nicole.

    As for the rest of your update, way to go. Hope you have a fabulous week, my friend.

Leave a Reply

