FO: Schnecken Mitts

First off, schnecken means snails. And these mitts have plenty of schnecken.

Snail Mitts FO 1

These were a birthday present for my sister, and since she has now received them and is wearing them, you can see them on the blog. Her hands are usually cold, so mitts are a great gift for her. I think I’ve given her three — no four — pairs since I started knitting again.

I actually had these finished in time for Christmas, except for the sewing in of ends. Which I hate. So I put it off, and put it off, and gave them to her for her birthday instead of Christmas. (I couldn’t put off the sewing in of the ends any longer, or I would have.)

Snail Mitts FO 2

I do like the way they turned out. They’re a good size for her, and because they’re colorwork they are warmer than single-strand mitts would be. And they’re covered in snails. She loves snails, and not served up on a plate with garlic butter. She likes them living, and though I can’t see why, I do humor her and gift her with snail things as often as possible. I think the next knitted snail thing will have to be an amigurumi.

Also, because I know the knitters among you will want to see, here’s the inside of the mitt:

Snail Mitts FO 3

SPECS

here’s a link to my Ravelry project page

Pattern: Schnecken
Designer: SpillyJane
Yarn: KnitPicks Pallette (in Bark, Doe, and Teal)
Needles: US 2, with US 1.5 for the top ribbing (that’s 2.75 and 2.5 mm)
Start & End Dates: June 4, 2013 – January 18, 2014… and most of that time was spent waiting for the finishing after everything was knit.
Mods: I made this fingerless instead of fingered. I also knit the top ribbing with a smaller needle than the body of the mitt. (If I were to do it again, I might do the cuff in the smaller needle as well.)

3 thoughts on “FO: Schnecken Mitts

  1. […] FO post – Schnecken Mitts […]

Leave a Reply

