FO: Coffee (and tea) Cup Cozy

We have an FO post today! This is the first FO for The Year Of The WIP, which is a good thing. I really want to get some of those WIPS out of my knitting-in-progress basket.

Coffee Cup Cozy 1

But what is it, you ask? Well, maybe this photo will give you a better idea:

Coffee Cup Cozy 2

This is my cup cozy for the plastic reusable Starbucks cup. I get way too much tea there, on days when I’m running late in the mornings and don’t have time to make my own tea & breakfast at home. (AKA, nearly always) So, I love the gift of the reusable mug that I was given by a friend who is also a Starbucks employee.

But one thing I didn’t love was how the employees always put on the cardboard sleeves. The reason I didn’t love the cardboard sleeves is the glue on the inside of the sleeve that makes it stick to the cup. Doesn’t work so well for a plastic cup that you want to take the sleeve off of. This project was my answer!

SPECS:

Pattern: We’re Just That Awesome Cup Cozy
Designer: Allyson Dykhuizen
Yarn: Spunky Eclectic Spunky Socks, Walking on the Sun colorway
Needles: US 3 (3.25 mm)
Start/End Dates: November 20, 2013 – January 10, 2014

Mods:

  1. I may not have knit exactly the length in the pattern. I’m not sure – I just knit until it fit my specific cup, since I’m not going to be switching cups.
  2. I left off the buttons. Just didn’t feel like adding them.
4 thoughts on “FO: Coffee (and tea) Cup Cozy

  1. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Now everyone in Starbucks will want one.

  2. Tamara says:

    What a great idea! I really do not like the way the cardboard ones feel on my fingers.

  3. mrspao says:

    Great project 🙂

Leave a Reply

