Ten on Tuesday ~ Caroling, Caroling

There is no official Ten on Tuesday prompt for today, but I have to do one of my own. I love Christmas music too much (and I’m too picky about it) to not post some of my favorites. So, here is an unofficial Ten on Tuesday, with my favorite Christmas songs (in the current order of preference):

10. Little Drummer Boy/Peace On Earth by Bing Crosby and David Bowie. This is a song medley that I had no clue existed until it was added to my Caroling group’s repertoire this year. I’m partial to it at the moment partly because it’s a good song, and partly because it’s new (to me). Also because I’ve spent the last couple months working the song with the Caroling group, and the pros sing it so much better than we do…

9. The Canadian Brass Christmas. All very fun songs.

8. You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch by Rockapella. Usually I find this song (when not in the movie) to be slow and almost boring, but Rockapella does a very upbeat, pop-style version.

7. All of the Mannheim Steamroller Christmas music. There are, granted, some songs I like more than others. But it’s just not Christmas without Mannheim.

6. Christmas Don’t Be Late by Alvin and the Chipmunks. Classic Christmas humor. Gotta love it.

5. Little Saint Nick by John Denver and the Muppets. “Run run reindeer!”

4. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer by the California Raisins. Fun to listen to, and also fun to watch. (See my prior Ten on Tuesday for details on Wil Vinton’s Claymation Christmas where this is featured.)

3. Christmas Soup by Four Shadow. Other people are familiar with a song that is nearly identical to this one – Straight No Chaser’s Twelve Days Of Christmas. However, Christmas Soup is a much superior version.

2. I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day by Rockapella. Lovely song, but I’m especially partial to this version.

1. Sleigh Ride, the instrumental version. It’s a classic, and for some reason it feels so much more festive without the words.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Caroling, Caroling

  1. Bing and Bowie are such an odd combo but I’m right there with you on that being one of my favorites. Great list.

    Wishing you and yours a very merry Christmas Nicole!

  2. mrspao says:

    I adore Sleigh Ride, too!

Leave a Reply

