Ten on Tuesday ~ On The Side

Today’s Ten on Tuesday prompt is “10 Favorite Thanksgiving Side Dishes.” Hmm. I foresee one problem with this topic: it’s going to make me hungry. Oh well, nothing for it, I suppose. Here goes…

1. Green bean casserole. – This is a standard in my family, because we all love it. You know the one, it’s the one on the French’s fried onion container.
2. Potatoes Romanov. – This is a warm potato salad with cheese. Plenty of cheese. And I love it to bits, though I do want to try finding a classic warm German potato salad to alternate with this one. Last time we were in Epcot we ate at the Biergarten restaurant, and their warm potato salad was amazing.
3. Cranberry sauce. – Nothing special for this one. Just the basic smooth canned version.
4. Salad. – But not just any salad. When I was younger, my grandma would always make a spinach salad with mandarin oranges for special occasions. She mixes it up now, and sometimes we’ll have different things in our salads, but this one was my favorite for holiday meals.
5. Dinner rolls. – Basic dinner rolls, I guess. But I’m picky about them. They can’t be too hard, but they can’t be chewy. And I prefer sweet rolls for Thanksgiving instead of wheat or sourdough.
6. Stuffing, sometimes. – It really all depends on the stuffing. I really don’t like gooey stuffing.
7. Gravy. – Not exactly a side dish, but I do love me some gravy.
8. Jell-O. – Especially when it’s in a Jell-O mold and has mandarin oranges in it.
9. Summer sausage. – In the winter. Yes. And it’s more of a before-dinner-appetizer than a side dish, but I associate it with holiday meals. So there.
10. Mulled cider. – Again not a side dish, but still something I associate with Thanksgiving. (And Christmas. Many of the dishes are the same.)

That’s my ten, even if some of them were kinda cheating. What about you? What are your favorite side dishes? You can cheat too, if you like, though I decided I’d at least not include dessert. That deserves its own category, in my opinion.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ On The Side

  1. Because I do turkey for both Thanksgiving and Christmas, I have different focuses for each holiday. Thanksgiving is ‘harvest’ with a fruit/nut dressing (done in the crock pot to avoid the mushy) and the turkey stuffed with apples and onions which makes for a nice fruity gravy, for example. Yep, you’ve gone and made me hungry 😀

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Dessert is indeed it’s own category, but pumpkin pie made my list.

    That green bean thing is interesting. Does it taste good?

Leave a Reply

