FO Friday: Lip Balm Cozies

I know, I know. You’re probably thinking, “Who needs a lip balm cozy?”

Well, the answer might be you. Especially if you lose yours on as regular a basis as I do.

In any case, I didn’t make these intending to keep them. I made them as gifts, and since the recipients were all fans of Disney parks, having easy access to lip balm is a great idea. Which is why I put them all on carabiners so they could clip onto belts, bags, you name it.

yarma

I thought they were a really cute idea, and the pattern was available free! (Even better.) They crocheted up really quickly, and the pattern was super easy to memorize. Also, I suppose you could modify them if you wanted to, but I found that just using different crochet thread was sufficient to keep me interested while making them.

yarma

SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project page)

PATTERN: Crochet Lip Balm Cozy
DESIGNER: Michele Gaylor
YARN: crochet thread, really, and a huge variety of colors (the thread itself was by JP Coats, and South Maid, as far as I can remember)
HOOK: size C (2.75 mm)
START/END DATES: August 30, 2013 – September 23, 2013
MODS: I made the loop a little longer than specified, otherwise none

5 thoughts on “FO Friday: Lip Balm Cozies

  1. Chris says:

    Those are awesome! I have a little doodad that basically attaches a carabiner to the cap of a lip balm, but you lose too many lip balms when the cap comes off. Oh, look, there are knitting patterns on Ravelry… and I have scrap sock yarn. 🙂

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- There is nothing, absolutely nothing that craftspeople can’t do.

    Those are great.

Leave a Reply

