Ten on Tuesday ~ Chores

Today’s Ten on Tuesday blog prompt is “10 Chores You Hate Most.” This one definitely requires a bit of explanation after each list item, because some chores I dislike for obvious reasons and others are a bit more random.

Here goes…

  1. Laundry. – This is kinda obvious, maybe. I don’t like doing laundry because it NEVER ENDS. I like the process of folding and putting away my laundry on occasion. But I don’t like how often I have to do it.
  2. Changing the sheets. I love having new sheets on the bed. But I hate trying to get the fitted sheet to comfortably fit on our mattress. (We have a kinda thick mattress pad on the top of it, so it’s thicker than normal.)
  3. Cleaning the cat box. Because who likes doing that?
  4. Cleaning the toilet. Again… who likes cleaning the toilet?
  5. Steam cleaning the carpets. I don’t do this often, and I love the result when I’m done, but I hate doing it. Takes FOREVER and I always manage to get my clothes wet accidentally.
  6. Scrubbing grout. Because yuck. Just yuck.
  7. Cleaning the shower. As with the carpets, I can’t stay dry when cleaning the shower. And that just drives me nuts.
  8. Waxing my car. – I don’t really have a good place to do this, and I often don’t allot enough time. So I try to rush the end of it, and that means I get annoyed and/or do a poor job of it.
  9. Vacuuming. – Mostly because I always find something I missed when I’m done. A spiderweb hanging from the ceiling, a patch of cat fur in a corner of the hardwood floor, etc.
  10. Dusting. – It’s a never-ending and thankless job. It’s only noticed when you DON’T do it. A well-dusted house is unremarkable. But an un-dusted house looks dirty.

I guess a lot of these weren’t really chores I “hate”. Dislike is probably a better way of putting it. Dusting, however… that one I hate.

What about you? Any chores you are less fond of than the rest? And can I get you to come dust my house for me?

4 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Chores

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- I thought that was what husbands were for, cleaning the litterbox.

  2. Susie says:

    “Meow. I LOVE it when you do the laundry!”

  3. Litter box = why I don’t have a cat, not that I don’t think they are adorable. As for the grout, maybe it was the move to the desert but that job is no longer a separate category, it gets down when cleaning the tub/shower. Of course, cleaning the tub/shower was on my hated list, too 😀

  4. mrspao says:

    I love changing the bed because Sirius loves to be highly involved i.e. getting himself between the fitted sheet at the mattress protector!

Leave a Reply

