FO Friday ~ Watermelon Socks!

And now the moment you’ve all been waiting for! (Well, some of you have been waiting for it, anyway.) The reveal of the finished watermelon socks!

Finished Watermelon Socks 4

These were a really fun knit, and super easy too since they were a simple vanilla sock pattern. The hardest part for me was figuring out where I wanted to place the heel and toe, since I’ve never knit an afterthought heel before. Once I had the placement down on sock number one, though, it was just a matter of matching that for the second sock.

Finished Watermelon Socks 3

And yes, I made sure to match them up exactly. With the yarn color repeat on this dye job (by Abi Grasso, whose etsy store is here), though, it was really easy to make the pair match up. And these are a fairly tall pair of socks for me (I usually knit them a little shorter), but I still have a bunch of yarn left over. Very generous yardage on the skein. I think I might make a pair of matching mitts to go with these, but I haven’t decided yet.

Finished Watermelon Socks 1

The first sock was knit a while ago, and then I paused between the two before knitting up the second sock. I’m not sure why. However, once I did start sock #2, it went very quickly. (Faster than the first one, since I didn’t have to check size at all, just match up the color repeats.) I finished the second sock in a smidge over a week. These are very fun, and I’m seriously thinking about buying some of the other yarn patterns offered by Abi – like maybe the patriotic ones (which are awesome, and might end up being a gift for my mom since red, white, and blue are some of her favorite colors to wear) or perhaps the ghost socks (largely because I have never seen anyone dye such a complicated pattern before and I want to support the talented artists who create these kinds of things). We’ll see. For now, I love these socks, and look forward to slightly colder weather so I can wear them comfortably.

Finished Watermelon Socks 2

SPECS:

PATTERN: Watermelon Basic Sock Pattern
DESIGNER: Abigail Grasso
YARN: Abi Grasso Watermelon Self Striping Sock Yarn With Seeds
NEEDLE: US 1.5 (2.5 mm)
START/END DATES: March 25, 2013 to June 30, 2013

MODS: I cast on 60 stitches. I also did not knit the heel as written, but used an afterthought heel so that the yarn striping would be uninterrupted.

6 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Watermelon Socks!

  1. Chris says:

    Perfect matchy-matchy! 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    I love your socks! They’re fantastic:)

  3. L-Squared says:

    I love these! Matching mitts would be awesome too.

  4. kathy boyer says:

    So perfect for summer knitting > YOURS are awesome. I’ need a fork for some watermelon. I love your after thought heel as a fore thought obviously.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- They’re simply perfect!

Leave a Reply

