Contest Time!

Today is Wednesday, and Wednesday is normally for knitting WIPs on this blog. However, today we’re going to do something different.

20130520-124315.jpg

Today I want to celebrate my birthday hobbit-style. Or I suppose I could celebrate my wedding hobbit-style, since I have two prizes to give away. (No, I did not get married on my birthday. And no, I’m not telling you the actual dates of either. But we’re celebrating both today on the blog.)

  • For the birthday: this is not a milestone birthday for me, but it is a birthday. And I kinda like birthdays, especially now that so many friends are on Facebook. People come out of nowhere to wish you a happy birthday on FB when it’s your birthday, and it’s nice to touch bases with old friends even for just a moment twice a year.
  • For the wedding: we got married in the Disneyland area (surprise, surprise) and spent our “reception” inside the parks. It was great fun, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. I know we did! If you want more details than that, I’m not really feeling like sharing them here just now, but if you let me know in comments I’ll email you with a link where you can read more about it. I just don’t currently want that information up on the blog. This is also why the pictures in this post are not of us, but of scenery.
  • For the hobbit-style celebration: as you may recall, hobbits give other people presents on their birthdays, instead of receiving presents themselves. Well. It seems there was a blog milestone a short while back, and though I forget what it was, I remember that I had promised a contest.

20130520-124257.jpg

So, in order to celebrate ALL THE THINGS, I am holding a giveaway on the blog now. There will be two prize packs up for grabs, since there are two major events. One features knitting, one features reading. You can enter the contest for one or both of these prizes.

Knitting prize includes: a skein of yarn picked by me, along with some other fun goodies.

Reading prize includes: an ebook copy of the story I reviewed last Friday, Seleste deLaney’s GAMING FOR KEEPS, along with some other goodies. (The ebook will be sent electronically, while the rest of the things will be sent by mail. I will be in touch after the winner is selected to determine the best ebook format.)

Sound fun? And how do you enter? There are three ways. Here’s how:

1. Comment on this post specifically stating that you are entering the contest AND which prize(s) you want to be eligible for. Congratulatory comments, while appreciated, are not automatically assumed to be contest entries.

2. Re-Tweet the contest information. Please provide a link to the tweet in the comments on this post so I can go cheer you on.

3. Mention this contest in your blog and post a link to your blog in the comments on this post.

20130520-124305.jpg

The winners will be selected by a random number drawing. The same person cannot win both prizes unless there are no other entrants. As with any contest, I reserve the right to modify the rules or end the contest early, blah blah blah. All the legal stuff that you’ve heard before. You know.

The ebook is due to be released on June 10, 2013, so that’s how long this contest will run. ALL ENTRIES MUST BE RECEIVED BY MIDNIGHT PACIFIC TIME ON 6/10/13 IN ORDER TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR THE CONTEST.

17 thoughts on “Contest Time!

  1. L-Squared says:

    Congratulations to you and Mr. Bookwyrm on your marriage. Having the reception at Disneyland sounds like so much fun! Also, I hope you have/had a wonderful birthday.

    I would love to be entered in your birthday and wedding celebration contest for either prize (even though I do a lot more crocheting than knitting).

    Oh, and I retweeted the contest info here: https://twitter.com/L_Squared/status/337306024316903426

    Thanks!

  2. lorraine says:

    Nicole- I don’t want a prize, just to say a huge congratulations to you and your new husband, and I wish you both much happiness and health.
    I hope your first child won’t be named Micky Mouse.

  3. Carrie#K says:

    What? We don’t have to guess which towers those belong to? Disney’s first ride? Nothing?

    Happy birthday! They’re all milestones.

  4. Troy Boyer says:

    Im officially entering the contest and I’d love the Yarn win.
    I would LOVE your wedding in DISNEY details. HOW amazingly fun. SO you are officially a kept woman???
    HAPPY Birthday to you too to you too

  5. Troy Boyer says:

    just added the link to my GREEN post today

  6. Chris says:

    Happy birthday!! And CONGRATS!!!! Milestone pileup. 🙂

    Knitting prize… and you’ll be included in linkity tomorrow!

  7. […] Knits is celebrating her birthday hobbit style – by giving away a knitting and an ebook prize. Comment by midnight PDT on June […]

  8. […] So, I am still reading Steven King’s ON WRITING. Kinda. “Still reading” as in “have not yet finished.” I have also moved on and read other things, too. I read GAMING FOR KEEPS, the ebook I reviewed last week. (And which is up for one of two prizes in my birthday/wedding/I-forget-what-blog-milestone contest. G…) […]

  9. […] Before I start today’s Ten on Tuesday, go enter my birthday/wedding/I-forget-what-blog-milesto… […]

  10. I’m NOT entering but wanted to say…

    Happy Birthday

    Congratulations

    and

    Congrats

    😀

  11. Kendas says:

    Hi Bookwyrm happy birthday. I didn’t realise. But congratulations as well on your wedding, I love how different it was and it sounded really fun. I don’t usually enter competitions but I love the sound of Gaming for Keeps so I’d love to enter the contest for that please Xxx

  12. […] forget that there’s still time to enter my birthday/wedding/I-forget-what-blog-milestone contest! You can enter to win a bookity prize or a yarny prize. For details and to enter, click on the […]

  13. mrspao says:

    Congratulations on both occasions. How exciting and generous you are 🙂 I’d like to go for a knitterly prize, please 🙂 I’m way behind on my blog reading!

  14. […] first, have you entered my birthday/wedding/blog milestone contest yet? Go. Enter. The contest is only open until Monday, June 10, but the FO will still be here when […]

  15. Miranda says:

    Congratulations! And please enter me for Gaming For Keeps. Though I like to think I am a knitter, my yarn just rots. Books get read much faster! Thank you and keep blogging 🙂

    Miranda
    mdwartistry at yahoo dot com

  16. Fincastlemom says:

    Please enter me in the contest for the knitting gift. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

