Friday FO ~ Baby Surprise!

Today instead of a Friday Reads blog, let’s do a Friday FO post, shall we?

Baby Surprise FO 1

Here is the completed Baby Surprise Jacket for my soon-to-be nephew. I just hope he’s not too big for it right away, because I have no real idea what size a newborn might be. I haven’t given it to my sister yet, but the chances of her reading this blog are slim. And even if she does, she already knows the sweater is coming, she just doesn’t know what it looks like yet. I don’t mind if it’s not a surprise.

Isn’t is cute, though? I especially love the buttons. I managed to find them at JoAnn Fabrics – I thought I’d have to go to some out-of-the-way place to find cute buttons, but not so!

The yarn is Indulgence 6-ply which I bought at this year’s Stitches West, and the pattern is of course the Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann. It was surprisingly not difficult to sew up. My seaming isn’t perfect, though. I think my next knitting class should be on seams. That is my biggest difficulty… the finishing aspect.

Baby Surprise FO 2

This was a fabulously fun sweater, though. I’m going to have to make more – either for this baby, or for others. I dunno… but surely someone I know will be having a baby that I can make a sweater for. I’m not even going to think about whether I will be that someone. Wedding first. Then we can decide if we want kids or not. One step at a time.

Baby Surprise FO 3

Which makes me all the more glad to have a niece and an almost-nephew to knit for. Even if I don’t have any of my own, I will have children in the family to receive handknits.

Baby Surprise FO 4

SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project)

PATTERN: Baby Surprise Jacket
DESGINER: Elizabeth Zimmermann
YARN: Knitting Fever Indulgence 6-ply
NEEDLES: US 6
START/END DATES: 2/22/13 – 4/23/13
MODS: none – I wanted to do it as-written first, so I knew I understood the “sweater origami” that happened in the seaming.

7 thoughts on “Friday FO ~ Baby Surprise!

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- Really cute, and the buttons are adorable.

  2. Sommer says:

    Love it 🙂 And congrats to your sister on the coming wee one.

  3. Chris says:

    That is SOOOO cute – probably the cutest one of those I’ve seen. 🙂

    Of course, I wasn’t thinking sweater when I saw the post title. O.O

  4. kathy b says:

    Absolutely perfect. I Adore your sweater finish right down to the buttons

  5. mrspao says:

    Such a cute sweater 🙂

  6. Leslie says:

    love ez’s surprise, I usually have one sitting around on needles.

  7. Carrie#K says:

    That is SO freaking cute!!

Leave a Reply

