WIP Weds ~ 4/17/13

I think it’s time for a WIP Wednesday blog post! The sun is shining, the air is warm, and it’s a lovely California spring day. But I’m still taking my knitting pictures inside today, because it’s easier than taking them outside for their photoshoot.

So, first up is something that you’ve all seen before: the watermelon socks!
20130417-214734.jpg
I love the way these are turning out. The striping is just so fun. I have gotten past the heel now, and knit in some waste yarn so I can add an afterthought heel. I’ve never knit one of those before, so that will be interesting. I’m just trying to determine the best way to try on the sock so I can tell when I want to start the toe decreases.

And the next knitting project is something I don’t think I’ve blogged before. It’s the Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief.
20130417-214738.jpg
I’m knitting it from the rest of the Nashua Handknits Ivy I used for my Central Park Hoodie. This is fun yarn, but I ended up with lots left over and no idea what to do with it. So, when I needed something new to cast on, this is what I ended up with.

I like the project, though I have more yarn than the pattern calls for. I think I’ll stretch it out a little and see about adding another repeat – or at least part of another repeat. I don’t want to end up with more leftovers that I have to figure out a project for.

And the last project in today’s WIP post is something that I haven’t worked on in ages: the Sweetheart Sweater.
20130417-214727.jpg
Technically, I haven’t started working on it again yet, either. But I want to get back to this one and knit up the fronts. Then I can figure out how much yarn I have left over, and either knit the sleeves as written (if I have enough) or modify the pattern for short sleeves, if that’s all I have yarn for. And if it really comes down to it, I might have to try to locate someone selling their leftovers of this yarn, because I think it’s been discontinued (at least in these colors) since I haven’t been able to find it in stores anywhere.

Happy hump day! Here’s to a good weekend ahead!

4 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ 4/17/13

  1. Amanda says:

    Love both the watermelon sock yarn and the hedgehog knitting pouch. What yarn are you using?

  2. Chris says:

    Those watermelon socks boggle my mind every time I see them.

  3. kathy b says:

    I just love love love the watermelon socks!!!
    Your knitting is lovely.
    any sweater is such a BIG project to me…I admire you

Leave a Reply

