Round of Words ~ To ROW, or not to ROW?

Sorry for the radio silence the past few days. I’ve been thinking about whether or not to keep going with ROW80, and thinking about that has occupied the part of my brain normally devoted to writing blog posts. It somehow felt that I couldn’t post a new blog until I’d made this decision.

So, what this post means is that I’ve come to a decision. And I am going to keep up with ROW80 this round, but a heavily modified version of it. (Which is part of the Round Of Words In 80 Days mission statement, so I’m all good.)

See, during these next 80 days, a lot is going to be happening that has nothing to do with writing. Namely, I have a wedding coming up. And obviously during the weeks surrounding that, I will have many other things on my mind that have nothing to do with writing. But, I don’t want to completely slip on the few writing habits that I did get back to with this year’s Round 1.

And the result is the following list of goals for Round 2:

1. Writing: spend one hour per week on worldbuilding (standard) &/or detail 5 plot points complete with GMC (Goal, Motivation, & Conflict) for each (advanced)

2. Blogging: post three blogs per week (standard) & read and comment on 5 other ROWer blogs per week (advanced)

3. Health: stick to personally decided calorie count, and walk 7,000 (standard) or 10,000 (advanced) steps per day

4. Craft advancement: read one book on writing during the course of Round 2

I’ve decided to include two levels of difficulty, so to speak, for each of the weekly goals. One of my problems last round was not having this option, and so feeling like a failure when I accomplished SOMETHING, but not “ENOUGH”.

Also, I retain the right to cancel either of the first two options if needed in order to do wedding stuff. Which goes without saying, but having SAID it, I can do it if needed without any feelings of guilt. 🙂

Have a great rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “Round of Words ~ To ROW, or not to ROW?

  1. So glad you’re sticking with ROW this round. I’ve been in the To ROW, or not to ROW spot. Almost hands down to ROW is best 🙂 I love the two level approach. Wishing you a fabulous round and we’ll all be here after the wedding waiting for the details!

  2. lorraine says:

    Nicole- I think you have “wedding brain” which is totally understandable.

Leave a Reply

