NaNo Update & Snippet

So, as you know if you have read my other blog posts about this year’s NaNoWriMo Novel, I am writing this as a first person thing, as told in blog posts from the main character. I will probably not keep the whole thing in blog format when I go through revisions, but for now that’s how I’m writing it.

It’s been going really well, which I am happy about. I didn’t make my word count over the weekend, but that’s because I was out of town and didn’t plan on writing. However, because I set my personal goal higher than the official daily goal, I had enough of a buffer to allow me to not worry about writing for those two days without falling behind. Granted, by buffer has gone from 3,453 words to 35 words after I’m done writing today (Monday), but still. I haven’t fallen behind yet. Yay me!

And because I haven’t posted much about the story yet, here’s the first bit of stuff I wrote today. This is a complete teaser, so I’m not telling you much about what is going on here, but I will tell you the title of this NaNovel: The Care and Feeding of a Teenage Werewolf. You can read as much as you like into the snippet below.

(And I have to mention this part: this is an un-edited, un-polished snippet of an un-published story written by me. It is still, however, MY story, and so no cross-posting is allowed.)

 

I have to go through this from start to finish, or I won’t ever manage to get it all down. And I have to tell it story-style, or again. It won’t come out right.

My hands are shaking, and I’m afraid that it’s not entirely because I’m coming down from the adrenaline rush that got me home. I can’t believe so many things in my life have been turned on their head in the past three hours. If that. I can’t even track time right now, things are so screwed up.

Yeah, Hawk is still as cool as ever, and possibly more cool than I thought he was, but I just can’t process. Can’t fathom what he’s been going through over the past few months, or the fact that he kept it from me. But would I have told him? I don’t think so. I think if I were him, I’d still be trying to process what had happened, much less trying to convince someone else that that happened, happened. If I hadn’t seen it, I wouldn’t believe it. Hell, I saw it, and I’m still not sure I believe it.

Except for the way the bite on my arm stings. And the fact that I know my eyes weren’t lying to me when Sandy ran out of the lecture hall.

After that nice little statement that I was going to start at the top and go through this all logically, here I am rambling. Maybe talking – well, writing – through it in an orderly fashion is going to be hard, or make me freak out even more, but I have this feeling that it actually will help.

Or – and this is a comforting thought – something will go horribly wrong with me, and Red will end up having to hack into my blog to figure out what’s going on. And if that’s the case, I’ll need to be nice and orderly so she can figure it out, because if I can’t figure the last three hours out and I LIVED it, she doesn’t have a prayer.

2 thoughts on “NaNo Update & Snippet

  1. mrspao says:

    I love it – it sounds really exciting! 🙂

  2. Helen says:

    You’ve got me hooked

Leave a Reply

