And we’re off!

Today is November 1. Samhain. All Saints’ Day. El Dia De Los Muertos. Hallowmas. Beltaine. And the start of NaNoWriMo.

I have done NaNo before. If you want to see my posts on the subject, go here and read these. I don’t really feel like describing the insanity that is NaNo again just now. Maybe I will later this month when I’m tearing my hair out, but not now.

Though hopefully I won’t be doing much of the “tearing my hair out” variety this year. Yes, it’s been a while since I’ve done much writing, which could be a problem since I need to average 1,667 words per day in November in order to reach the goal of 50K. And no, I don’t have a very firm plot for this year’s NaNo. That is not usually a good plan for me.

However, I have a secret weapon this time.

I am writing this story as a series of blog posts. At least for now. The plan is to do NaNo as the main character’s blog. Later, either when I reach the end of my planned plot (what there is of it) or when NaNo is over or I decide I’m ready for the next stage of this novel, I will be going back and filling in more scenes around the blog posts.

Or that’s the current plan. I might end up liking the way the book-as-blog-posts idea works, and make it work for an actual novel. Or I might end up just using the blogs I write for NaNo as a background for the character and write completely new fiction using the blogs as a backbone.

But all of that is for later. For now, I am blogging my NaNoNovel.

One thought on “And we’re off!

  1. mrspao says:

    I like the idea – hope it goes according to plan 🙂

Leave a Reply

