Ten On Tuesday ~ It’s A Mystery

Today’s 10 on Tuesday prompt is very timely: we’re supposed to list our 10 favorite mysteries. Well, I have been reading a lot of them lately! We’re allowed to list mystery series instead of books, so I’ve done that in some cases, too.

Here are my ten favorite mysteries, in the order that I remembered them. Not in order of preference, because I don’t know if I could list them that way. My preference changes by the day or, in the case of the series, based on which book is fresh in my mind.

Ten Favorite Mystery Books

  1. Bewitching Mysteries by Madelyn Alt
  2. Wishcraft Mysteries by Heather Blake
  3. Mousetrap by Agatha Christie (though to be fair, I haven’t read the book – I’ve only seen the stage show. But it was wonderful.)
  4. Knitting Mysteries by Maggie Sefton
  5. Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (and I must be honest again… this is the book that’s freaked me out the most. I read it in – I want to say – early high school, and got all the way through the murders and to the point where the killer was going to be resolved, and WAS SO TERRIFIED by the book that I put it down and wouldn’t pick it up for MONTHS. And when I did, I discovered that I’d gotten all the way through the scary bits, and had reached the NOT AT ALL SCARY part, and of course THAT’S where I stopped. I felt so silly about it afterwards, but there was NO WAY I was going to keep going…)
  6. Diana Tregarde series by Mercedes Lackey
  7. (SOME OF) The Cat Who mysteries (because some are a lot of fun, but they do seem to repeat themes a bit…) (Yet they have cats in them. And the cats are named after Gilbert & Sullivan characters.)

Um. And now I feel sheepish.

I had thought I was reading all these mysteries, and it turns out that I am… but they’re all in the same series. And so when I list them by series instead of by book, I can’t fill out a list of 10 of them. Oh well. There are

3 thoughts on “Ten On Tuesday ~ It’s A Mystery

  1. Larry says:

    It says “10 Favorite Mysteries” but it doesn’t specifically say “books.” How about including TV mysteries? I would have to include “Columbo”; loved that show. And would “The Avengers” (the Steed and Mrs. Peel ones, of course) count as a mystery?

  2. mrspao says:

    Great list. I know what you mean but I just chose 10 authors for mine.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- A movie version was made of the Agatha Christie- Ten Little Indians- and if I remember, it was a little hokey. But the story was great.

Leave a Reply

