WIP Weds ~ Time For Something New

Have I ever told you my SnB’s theory that there are times you have to cast on a new project or else you’ll explode? Well, I decided that’s where I was the day before we flew out to meet my guy’s family. I needed a new project for the plane trip. So, I started this:

yarma

It’s the Eliina Shawl, by Lankakomero. This one wasn’t on my “to be knit” radar, but when I decided I wanted to start something using the Jojoland Harmony yarn I had in my stash, this was the pattern that I happened upon and chose. (I did a search for other projects made from the same yarn to get an idea of how mine might look, and this caught my eye.)

Eliina color change

I really like the way the yarn is changing color gradually. I think a shawl was the right choice for this yarn, since that will let the gradual color change show itself off. Some projects would not have the right dimensions for that kind of yarn.

The pattern is easy enough for me to have looked at the chart early on, and then put into my purse for the remainder of the flight. Something interesting enough to keep me from getting bored (the yarn color change, mostly, since this is basically a stockinette shawl) and yet simple enough that I wouldn’t get lost with the airplane disturbances.

yarma

I think this will transition into great SnB knitting, or great TV knitting. Either one requires something closer to the realm of mindless knitting. Don’t get me wrong: I love the intricate stuff. But there is a time and a place for a simple knit, and I love that, too.

3 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ Time For Something New

  1. Chris says:

    I love yarns that do that sort of color change – and glad you didn’t explode. 😉

  2. mrspao says:

    What a beautiful project! I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  3. kathy b says:

    WOW but what did you think of the PArents??

    I LOVE the shawl

Leave a Reply

