Trio of eBook Reviews

I received review copies of the following three eBooks from LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program, but didn’t have a chance to get the reviews up until now. My apologies that it took this long, but I did want to do them right.

~*~                       ~*~                       ~*~

The Void by Brett J. Talley

I didn’t really know what to expect with this story except that it was sci-fi. And that it was on the horror side of sci-fi. My initial thought (before even opening the eBook) was that it might be along the lines of “Event Horizon”. Given that I did not like that movie, I didn’t really expect to like the story… so I’m not really sure why I requested the review copy of it. But I did, and I decided to read until it became too much for me, and then stop.

It never actually became too much for me. I think this is because, while it is definitely horror, it’s more a mental style of horror than the gory kind. It’s all about the imagination – both the reader’s and the characters’.

This book had a well developed plot, and was a story that I didn’t want to stop reading even when it got to the most creepy bits. I am glad I read it during the day, though, as I am guaranteed nightmares if I read this kind of story too close to bedtime.

My biggest complaint was that, even at the end, it’s hard to tell what is real and what actually happened, vs. what was imagined. Where do the Dreams end and reality begin? Even the characters didn’t know. My second biggest complaint was that the characters were mostly (to one degree or another) hard to connect with. Some were just too fractured by what they’d seen or done for them to resonate with me, so I had trouble sympathizing with them.

~*~                       ~*~                       ~*~

Contrition by Robert E. Hirsch

This story was one I could not finish. I went into it with expectations of religious main characters and a paranormal twist. I love new ways to play with the paranormal, so I was really looking forward to seeing what this did. However, I couldn’t connect with the characters enough to get to the point where the paranormal aspect was revealed.

It’s hard to pinpoint what I disliked about this story. There seemed to be a lot of POV characters introduced at once, and that’s always hard to handle. I found myself bored with the newly introduced characters because I wanted to know more about the original character. Also, the setting just didn’t click for me. Perhaps because I didn’t get the references the author made in his descriptions? I’m not sure.

I guess this is just one that didn’t work for me. Your mileage may vary, especially if you don’t mind being more patient than I am. I suspect that this book takes a little while to pick up momentum, and I just wasn’t willing to wait for it to get up to speed.

~*~                       ~*~                       ~*~

Don’t Call Me Angel by Alicia Wright Brewster

Unlike the other two eBooks I’m reviewing today, this one was exactly what I expected it to be. Urban fantasy/paranormal, with characters that are angels. It wasn’t quite as good as I’d hoped, but it was still enjoyable and worth the read.

(Here be spoilers…) The biggest thing I took issue with was the main character’s decision right at the start to stop being an angel and cut off her wings. I didn’t know enough about her at that point to understand why she made the decision. It seemed like self-mutilation at that point, rather than a decision to change who – or what – she was. I think this event would have worked better further into the story, after we’d gotten a chance to know her and understand where she was coming from.

The characters were decently developed throughout, even if the wing thing made me backpedal a bit. I didn’t quite get what was going on between Six and Alden, and while I think his personality shift was supposed to take the reader off guard, I didn’t get enough of a sense from him before that to be surprised by his actions. I was more surprised that Six didn’t see it coming, since I hadn’t gotten to know Alden enough to feel (as she seemed to) that this was not who she thought he was.

~*~                       ~*~                       ~*~

So there you go. Three eBooks, all available now. There are other reviews up on LibraryThing (the links to their LibraryThing pages are in each of their titles) if you want to get other opinions than mine. There are plenty out there! Some who agree, and some who disagree. If you decide to read any of them, let me know what you think! I’m always curious to see how my view of books compares & contrasts with others’.

2 thoughts on “Trio of eBook Reviews

  1. Chris says:

    Eeek! After watching Event Horizon, I was sick to my stomach. 😦

  2. kathy b says:

    IM always interested in what others are reading. I was snooping as much as I could on my last flight home to Chicago. IT is hard to snoop when so many people are KINDLING. You dont get to see any book cover…:(

Leave a Reply

