FO Friday: Frilly Scarf

Once I discovered the joy of yarn that WASN’T RED HEART, I swore I would never go back. There was nothing that was going to get me to pick up that acrylic monster.

I guess I was wrong.

Frilly Scarf - finished - 2

Red Heart put out a yarn called Red Heart Boutique Sashay, and it was weird enough that I had to try it. I also decided that my niece would enjoy a scarf made from the stuff, so it was a relatively easy and cheap way to make her a present. I thought, “Perfect. How hard can it be to knit this scarf? It goes so quickly it practically knits itself.” And to be fair, it did go pretty quickly. But it was really strange to work with, and it also was semi-easy to mess up it you weren’t paying attention. (Luckily, it’s also a strange enough fabric that most mistakes aren’t noticeable.)

Between one thing and another, it was a pretty quick knit when I actually spent time on it. Also, the longest amount of time I between casting on and marking it completed in Ravelry was spent procrastinating sewing in the ends. Because you do have to ACTUALLY SEW THEM. WITH THREAD. It doesn’t quite seem possible to sink the ends in the normal fashion. Very annoying.

Frilly Scarf - finished - 1

The end result was worth it, though. I think my niece (who will then be 7) will love it. I’m planning to edge a pair of mitts for her in this stuff, so she can have a matched set. I think she’ll love that even more.

And I even found the perfect thing to package it in: a Brave lunch bag from Subway. (My niece is like many young girls – indeed, including what I would have been like at her age – and loves Merida. And green is her favorite color. Since the yarn didn’t come in green, this is the next best thing, right?)

Photobucket

THE SPECS: (and a link to my Ravelry project page)

PATTERN: Frilly Knit Scarf
DESIGNER: Coats & Clark, for Red Heart
YARN: Red Heart Boutique Sashay
NEEDLES: US 10 1/2
START/END DATES: June 4, 2012 – August 5, 2012
MODS: None

5 thoughts on “FO Friday: Frilly Scarf

  1. Chris says:

    Nothing better than a happy niece! The Brave bag is really cute. 🙂

  2. kathy b says:

    OH I may have to go get that bag for my daughter for work…..
    so cool!

  3. mrspao says:

    Oooh that’s very pretty. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled. Great bag for it.

  4. […] is a pair of mitts that I made for my niece’s birthday. I made them to go with the Silly Frilly Scarf that I made out of that Red Heart Sashay stuff. I am still not a huge fan of that yarn, but I have […]

Leave a Reply

