WIP Weds ~ 6-6-12

Today we have something completely new for the WIP Weds! But first, older projects. Because JUST IN CASE family members are reading this, I would request that you don’t let my niece see the rest of this post. It has her birthday present in it.

Right. So first up in pictures today is Kitri!

Kitri 6-6-12

(HORRIBLE color quality in this photo. It’s here for progress only.)

This tsock has been in the WIP bag for a while, mostly because I put it down to work on Christmas presents, and then got distracted by frothy alpaca lace. But since Diantha’s done now, Kitri has been picked back up. I do enjoy knitting this, and I’m on the last repeat of the patten before I get to turn the heel.

Next up is a Break-It-Up sock!

Break it Up 6-6-12

This is a standard sock foot, but the cuff was designed by my friend Meg. It’s a great way to break up pooling (hence the name) or striping in a sock. My sock (made with KnitPicks Stroll Multi) is a perfect example of this. The place where the stripe reverses is where I turned the heel.

And now for the aforementioned present.

Sashay 1

A co-worker of mine told me about Red Heart Boutique Sashay yarn, and while I normally Will. Not. Buy. Red Heart, even if it was the last yarn in the world, this one intrigued me. The yarn makes a “Frilly Knit Scarf” (Ravelry link) with absolutely no effort on the knitter’s part. (Once you get the hang of knitting with only the top edge of what is already a mesh net.)

Sashay 2

It’s bizarre. And it’s worth trying once. Like, you know, fun fur. Or those ladder yarns. But will this become a staple in my knitting stash? No. I will finish this scarf, and I might knit a second if I find a reason to, but that’s about it.

One thing about it, this is a fast knit. The picture above? Probably about 15 minutes of knitting, if that.

3 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ 6-6-12

  1. Chris says:

    Whoa! That Red Heart yarn is freaky!

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Always good to have a quick tricksy inexpensive treat up your sleeve! Much progress!

  3. mrspao says:

    Oooh that last yarn is weird.

Leave a Reply

