FO: Slouchy Hat

I don’t normally wear hats, but I was recently planning a trip to Disneyland, realized that it was going to be cold outside, and decided I wanted a knit hat to wear. So I made one. (And I’m wearing it now as I write this blog, too, so I guess it was a success!)

This hat was sitting in my queue for a while, and I finally decided to make it. It’s the Slouched Tuva Hat, so named because of the yarn it was designed for. I didn’t use Tuva. I used Knit Picks Swish DK.

Blocking hat 2

The yarn I used was leftover from a sweater I made a while ago, and I may one day wear the two together. (Have to fix a hole in the sweater, though, from when I thought I could soak it in the washing machine and then forgot to stop it before the spin cycle.)

I really like the yarn and the way the color – Storm – looks against my skin tone & hair color. Plus, my guy likes it, too. So it’s a win-win situation.

Blocking hat 1

The hat itself was easy enough to make, but it would have been easier if I’d used a bigger circular cable. Instead I picked one that was too small, and ended up switching to DPNs for the entire body of the hat instead of just the crown. Much more annoying than using a circ.

It was a pretty quick knit, too, and if I’d worked on it exclusively it would have been done within a couple of days instead of in a week. Still, it was done and blocked and dry in time for me to wear on my trip, so that made me happy.

Here’s a picture the morning we left on the trip (at oh-dark-thirty, so excuse the lack of a smile) which shows the finished hat (rather than the blocking pictures above). This is a pretty good representation of the color, too.

Finished hat

And the specs:

PATTERN: Slouched Tuva Hat
DESIGNER: Turvid
YARN: Knit Picks Swish DK in Storm (which appears to have been discontinued)
NEEDLE: US 5 (3.75mm) DPNs
START/END DATES: 2/29/12 – 3/7/12
MODS: I cast on 100 stitches instead of the 90 called for. And then when it came time for the decreases, I forgot about this, and so I think the spacing of the decreases was a little different than it really should have been. Also, I blocked the hat even though the pattern didn’t specifically call for it. It gives it more of a slouch that way – not to mention letting the lace open up and show off.

5 thoughts on “FO: Slouchy Hat

  1. Very cool, to bad I don’t wear hats 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Cute!! 🙂 I only wear hats when I’m in the Southwest, because you NEED something to fight back the sun there.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Way to rock the slouch hat- looks great.

Leave a Reply

