God Bless Us, EVERY One

It’s funny. I used to hate when people wished me “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings.”

And for the most part, I still disapprove of the reason why they say that. It seems to me that most people use one of those two sayings because it’s more politically correct than saying “Merry Christmas.”

For the longest time, I rebelled by wishing people a “Merry Christmas” because, darnit! That’s what I celebrate, and so that’s what I want to say. None of this PC nonesense.

And then I started thinking about it.

Yes, some people – even most people – say “Happy Holidays” because it’s PC to do so. They say “Season’s Greetings” because they don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings if they celebrate another holiday.

But some people speak of the more generic “holidays” because they recognize that there is more than one winter holiday which falls within a two week span. (Possibly more, possibly less… while I know there are lots of holidays right around now, I don’t know when they all occur. And then there’s Hanukkah, which moves.)

At any rate, I think Tiny Tim had it right. “God bless us, every one.” Whether or not “every one” of us worships the same god.

One thought on “God Bless Us, EVERY One

  1. Chris says:

    If you go to this webpage:

    http://www.suburbansprawlmusic.com/xmas/

    and search for born again pagan, you’ll find “Born Again Pagan” by Chris Hatfield. You can get the mp3 for free right there, and it’s a great a snapshot of the history of the holidays at this time of year.

    Belated happy solstice to you! 😉 Let’s be kind to each other out there, people!

Leave a Reply

