Friday FO ~ Artichoke Socks!

Lookie here!

Finished Artichokes 1

Finished socks!

Sorry the picture’s a little blurry. The lighting wasn’t great, and while I tried to clean it up a bit, I think all I succeeded in doing was making the blurriness more obvious. It’s a pretty good representation of the color, at least.

Finished Artichokes 3

This was a fun pattern. While it was my first mystery sock KAL, it was by no means my first mystery KAL. (KAL = knit-a-long, for you non-knitters.) It was also not my first beaded KAL, but it was my first pair of beaded socks. So it’s got a lot of firsts and a lot of not-firsts going for it all at the same time.  🙂

I really enjoyed making these socks. While I had an advantage of knowing what the whole leg of the sock looked like before I started (I found out about the KAL late) I hadn’t seen the foot before I cast on my pair. I’m glad. I don’t really like the way the foot looks in pictures, but it’s kinda neat looking when on. Also, it’s so very comfortable!

Finished Artichokes 2

The way the sock is structured, it sorta wraps around your foot. There are increases at the bottom, and decreases moving ever inward until they reach in the middle. The result is a sock that fits with no sagging. (At least, mine did.) It was a smidge constricting when I first put them on in the morning, and I was worried how well they’d wear throughout the day, but – being wool – the socks had enough give in them to be a perfect fit by the time I took them off. Very comfortable. I may have to tweak this method of gusset decreases for all my socks.

Finished Artichokes 4

THE SPECS:

PATTERN: Artichoke Socks (Ravelry link)
DESIGNER: Janel Laidman
YARN: Hazel Knits Artisan Sock in Chocoberry
BEADS: Toho glass beads, size 6/0 (“E”), color 1952-57 (I think)
NEEDLES: US 1.5 (2.5mm) circular, magic loop style
START TO FINISH: 5/24/11 to 9/7/11
MODS: none

3 thoughts on “Friday FO ~ Artichoke Socks!

  1. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Those are wonderful.

  2. Chris says:

    Congrats! They are gorgeous. 🙂 AND DONE.

  3. Brigitte says:

    Oh, I love them! The gusset is pretty interesting; I love the look.

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

