Living Since 9/11

I am going to say something here today that might not be super popular. (As a warning, if comments get snarky I will turn them off. Though I have nice blog readers and I doubt anyone will be trollish.)

We need to move on.

I’m referring, of course, to our continued obsession with the 9/11 terrorist attacks. It was a horrible tragedy. It was completely unexpected. And it is long past the time when we need to put aside the shocked mourning and do something productive.

Yes, some of us have moved on. The military certainly is being productive. Some members of government and the media are as well. But the bulk of the US is still – to all intents and purposes – still thinking about 9/11/01 as if it were yesterday. The number of Facebook statuses I read yesterday that said that exact thing was amazing. “I remember it as if it happened yesterday…”

What does that say about us, really? That we relive the past, that we can’t let go of tragedy. That bad things which have happened to us mean more than good things which are happening to us now.

For myself, yes. I remember where I was when I heard about the towers falling. But it doesn’t feel like it was yesterday. It feels like it was 10 years ago. I have spent the intervening 10 years doing way too many things for it to still feel like it happened yesterday. I’ve spent the 10 years since trying to improve my life, trying to be a better person. Trying to make a difference.

I’ve spent the 10 years since 9/11/01 LIVING.

And I don’t plan to stop now.

3 thoughts on “Living Since 9/11

  1. Chris says:

    Yes. I read a tumblr post yesterday about this that you might enjoy:

    http://travelsafely.tumblr.com/post/10111349590

  2. Sherri says:

    I remember it like yesterday but I don’t DWELL on it like it was yesterday and I think that is the difference.

    But I’m the same with the shuttle explosion and any number of other disasters.

    You said it…spend the time improving your life, try to be a better person, try to make a difference.

  3. Carrie#K says:

    I remember way too many things like they were yesterday and they turn out to be ages ago, but I think that’s because I’m getting unutterably ancient.

    I don’t have a problem with people remembering the day, reminiscing and hopefully learning and moving on. Those that can’t remember the past are doomed to repeat it.

    Of course, those that live in the past aren’t all that helpful either.

Leave a Reply

