FO Friday: Mom’s Mesa Scarf

It’s been a while since I showed off an FO on the blog, hasn’t it? Though it hasn’t been that long since I finished something… the Mesa Scarf I made for my mom has been done for nearly 2 weeks now and I just haven’t blogged it.

Finished Mesa Scarf 1

I am thrilled with the way it turned out. Chroma is quite likely an even better yarn for this project than the Noro Silk Garden Lite was. (This is my second short row scarf, and I used Silk Garden for the first.) Especially since I know my mom, and she’ll be more likely to use a soft scarf than an even kinda scratchy one. And there’s no denying that, lovely though it is, and often though you wash it, Noro is at least a little scratchy.

Finished Mesa Scarf 4

The color repeats of this yarn worked beautifully with the pattern. There was one place where the yarn had been broken and knotted together, which caused an abrupt color jump. Had it been nearer the beginning of the scarf I would have cut the yarn and started over. Or had it been nearer the matching place in the color repeat I would have discarded everything in between. As it was, though, I left it in. It’s definitely noticeable it you look at it, but the overall impression isn’t bad. It flows in almost as a design element.

The length of each section is good for this pattern, too. The end result was short row triangles that don’t overlap much, color-wise. What I mean is, the color tended to change as I was nearly at the end of one triangle, so when I started back in the other direction, I was knitting with a new color. (Look at the pictures. You’ll see what I mean.)

Finished Mesa Scarf 2

I don’t knit multiple copies of many projects, but this one was worth it. Actually, I enjoyed it so much this second time, that I might end up knitting a third. Not soon, mind you. I have too many other things in the works or planned. But this is an addictive knit. It’s fast, it’s fun, and following the color changes makes me want to keep knitting “just a few more rows” to see if I can get to the new color, and how it will look.

But one note: if you decide to knit this scarf, I cannot recommend enough that you use the “alternate” ending, which results in a triangle. (The original ending is not at all symmetrical, and doesn’t look as nice. Not bad, just not as nice.)

Finished Mesa Scarf 3

Here are the specs:

PATTERN: Multidirectional Diagonal Scarf (Ravelry link) (link to the pattern)
DESIGNER: Karen Baumer
YARN: Knit Picks Chroma
NEEDLES: US 7 straights
START TO FINISH: 8/3/11 – 8/20/11
MODS: I used the alternate ending listed at the bottom of the pattern, so that the final section is a triangle the same size as the beginning section.

4 thoughts on “FO Friday: Mom’s Mesa Scarf

  1. Chris says:

    It’s gorgeous! 🙂

  2. mrspao says:

    Gorgeous scarf! I love the colour combos!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Your colors look way better than in the Knitpicks catalog.

  4. Carrie#K says:

    Beautiful! I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

