WiP Weds 8.31.11 ~ The Twisty Edition

As I write this, my boyo is playing “Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet,” and between that and the second of today’s WiPs, this is a very twisty blog post. (Or at least it is to me.)

I guess the first thing to show today is the progress I’ve made on the second of the Artichoke socks.

I’ve turned the heel, finished the gusset decreases, and (if you know the pattern this will make sense) continued with the paired increases & decreases until getting to the point where I’m going to start decreasing the instep stitches. So I figure I have about half of the foot left to go, maybe less. Very close to finished.

So of course I had to cast on another sock. And no, it wasn’t the sock I’d planned to start next (the second Star Trek sock). I just can’t bring myself to do a colorwork sock right now. It’s too warm.

Twisty Ribby Sock 1

So I started something cooler, using TOFUtsies yarn from SWTC. I’m doing a sock of no discernible pattern, just stuff I’m combining as I feel like it. It started with a Twisted Garter Cuff, a la Turtlegirl Christi. Then I moved into a k3 p1 pattern, and I’ll knit until I’m ready to do the heel. And then we’ll see what I feel like when I get there, but I’m kinda leaning towards something squishy. And maybe a new heel, one I haven’t tried before. Same goes for the toe… I’d like to use something padded (such as garter stitch maybe) but also a new technique. I’m not sure what heel or toe I’ll end up with. Any suggestions?

Twisty Ribby Sock 2

And that’s that. A twisty wip-y blog post.

6 thoughts on “WiP Weds 8.31.11 ~ The Twisty Edition

  1. Carrie#K says:

    I cannot believe you’d cast on another sock when you CLEARLY have more important things to do, as evidenced by the beseeching gaze directed upwards at you.

    In another vein – there’s a SECOND sock? Uh oh.

  2. Chris says:

    I like how Suzy’s staring at the knitting? you? in that photo!

    Yay for nearing the end of the Artichoke socks!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- WiP it- Wip it good.

    My son saw Devo not too long ago.

  4. mrspao says:

    I love the photo of your WIP and your cat 🙂

  5. Dorien says:

    Tomato heel maybe?

Leave a Reply

