Fri Reads 8.26.11 ~ More Changes

Reading can be problematic. I have a habit of, when I like an author, being very enthusiastic about new books being released by said author. And yet, they’re not always as good.

As a writer myself (and actually, all crafters or creators of pretty much everything should understand this) I know that not all works are as easy to create, or will come out to everyone’s satisfaction. Some of my works (unpolished and unpublished though they are) have been distinctly better than the others. I don’t imagine this is any different for published authors, with the exception that presumably their particularly bad things are polished up by editors before publication, or don’t get published at all.

However, it’s still quite disappointing to end up with a book in hand that just doesn’t measure up to expectations.

This has happened several times for me, and it’s resulted in two authors who – prior to this – were in the “buy whatever they release, as soon as they release it” category being moved into a lower tier of book-buying practices. (Side note: am I the only one who does that?)

The most recent is a confirmation that Ms. McCaffrey is no longer the amazing superstar author that I used to think she was. Maybe it’s age, maybe it’s the people she’s currently co-writing with, maybe it’s me being more critical of the works. But I picked up CATALYST from the library the other day, and I just can’t get into it. The POV jumps too much, and the narrative style isn’t to my liking. I haven’t even decided if I’ll finish the book yet, or not.

I think instead I’ll pick up a comfort read – maybe from McCaffrey’s ROWAN series – and re-read that instead. I don’t want difficult reading material right now. I just want something I’ll enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Fri Reads 8.26.11 ~ More Changes

  1. Chris says:

    Well, she’s got to be pretty darn old by now… 😦

  2. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- My husband reads all her books. Like Chris said, she’s been around a long time.

    Sometimes, it’s best to remember the good stuff.

  3. You’re not the only one who does the priority thing 🙂 I do love the Rowen Series, but I actually stopped reading her a long time ago. Love the old stuff though.

  4. Sommer says:

    I love her Pern stuff and my Dad just introduced me to Acorna…which I’m liking well enough. I find the idea of co-authoring so weird. How do you know what McCaffrey wrote and what the other author wrote?

    And yeah, sometimes I feel the need to prioritize who I read 🙂

  5. Carrie#K says:

    I do that too but there are few authors that make that list anymore.

  6. mrspao says:

    I can’t remember the last time I read Anne McCaffrey… It can be really disappointing that an author you love turns out a book that isn’t as good.

Leave a Reply

