Friday Reads 8.9.11 ~ Changes

It’s fun to take note of how one’s opinions can change over time. There are many ways to see the truth of this. There are different tastes in food or clothing. Different ways of looking at politics, religion, and friendships. Different figures of speech.

However, as this is Friday, and when I have something bookish to talk about I tend to do it on Fridays, I’m going to look at this from a bookish point of view.

I just finished a re-read of THE GATES OF SLEEP, the second (or third, depending on viewpoint) in Mercedes Lackey’s “Elemental Masters” series. When I initially read it, I could barely stand it. I’m surprised the book stayed on my shelf long enough for me to get around to re-reading it, frankly. (It nearly didn’t. I decided that before I split up my collection I should re-read the book that I was planning on selling.)

I’m glad I did re-read it. My initial reading was hard on the heels of THE SERPENT’S SHADOW (book 1 or 2 in the series, again depending), which I LOVED. Still love. (Am going to re-read next, as a matter of fact.) And it was described as a retelling of the Sleeping Beauty fairy tale, which at the time was my favorite of the fairy tales. (Don’t get me started on the Ann Rice version.)

And it so totally let me down.

Probably because my hopes were so high. Or because the curse on the heroine was NOT delivered by an evil fairy, nor a godparent, nor even a witch. Or because there was no mention of pricking her finger on a spinning wheel – actually, of pricking her finger at ALL.

So I finished the book – this was before I started putting books down that disappointed me, instead of finishing them anyway – and never picked it up again except to take it with me when I moved. And I had planned on selling it until I got part-way through my re-read.

And then I realized that my opinion of the book had changed.

I like to think that my prejudices have changed, or that I’m more open minded. Maybe that’s true. Or maybe, somewhere in the back of my mind I knew what to expect and so was able to enjoy the rest of the story for what it was.

What about you, reader-friends? How have your reading tastes changed over the years?

Of course, sometimes books we loved as kids end up to not suit us at all when we are adults, but that is probably a tangent for another day.

4 thoughts on “Friday Reads 8.9.11 ~ Changes

  1. My tastes do change, evolve, and de-evolve.

    I don’t reread a lot because the books I loved as a young person don’t bring me the same sort of satisfaction as an older adult.

    But you bring up a valid point about trying books I didn’t like earlier and seeing if my impression has changed now.

  2. Chris says:

    There are definitely some treasured oldies that I don’t want to reread because I know they won’t be to my taste anymore, and I’d rather just remember loving them.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- I do have some books that can be re-read. My tastes haven’t changed too much- I wish I could be more open-minded about other subjects.

  4. mrspao says:

    I might have to look those up.

Leave a Reply

