Magical Musical Mondays (and a contest!)

Mondays can be incredibly annoying. I don’t know about you, but I seem to have so much more trouble getting up on Monday mornings compared to the rest of the work week. I suppose it’s because I allow myself to resume my preferred sleep schedule on weekends – stay up late, get up late. It’s much more fun, but it makes returning to my weekday schedule hard. (To be fair, my weekday schedule seems to be stay up late, get up early. So it’s not all that different. Just a lot less sleep.)

Anyway, today (being a Monday) was hard. I can’t really say that it was any harder than any other Monday, but… perhaps I just thought about it more. Or prepared for it less over the weekend. (IE there’s no blog post scheduled for today.)

One of the things that kept me going on the way in to work was the music I put on. I have a silly random playlist on my iPod, a playlist that gets almost no air-time, but that contains things I want to be able to play for friends on a moment’s notice. Things like the “Happy Working Song” from ENCHANTED. Or like Moosebutter’s wonderful acappella renditions of “Harry Potter” and “Star Wars”. Or like my newest addition, “Still Alive” from Portal 1. (I want the Portal 2 song, too, but have yet to find a copy of it to purchase.)

Music keeps me going. Sometimes it’s smooth jazz to relax me. Sometimes it’s show tunes that I can sing along with at the top of my lungs. Sometimes it’s oldies that bring back memories.

And sometimes it’s random silly songs.

Want to keep my day (or week) looking brighter? Leave me a comment with fun song recommendations. And since it’s been a while since I’ve done a give-away, we’ll turn this into a contest. Here are the rules:

1. Leave a comment. Either recommend a song to lift my spirits, or let me (and my readers) know that you need your spirits lifted, too.
2. Blog/tweet/otherwise share this post and tell me where you did so. (either in the comments or by e-mailing bookwyrmknits (at) gmail (dot) com).
3. Come back tomorrow and do it all over again. Each day you comment or share this post will get you another entry. (2 entries max per day.)
4. Wait patiently until next Monday when I will announce the winner (chosen at random).

I’ll send the winner a set of handcrafted cards (made by me). I’ll even let you help me pick the cards’ theme – birthday, Christmas, etc – within a range of supplies I already have available.

13 thoughts on “Magical Musical Mondays (and a contest!)

  1. Carrie#K says:

    Patience is required? Uh oh.

    Monday mornings are hard because once again, I have not been left a vast inheritance over the weekend. Someday.

    Hmm. Good Intentions/Lyle Lovett, Rockstar/Nickleback or My Old Friend The Blues/Steve Earle.

  2. Lorraine says:

    “peaches” by The Stranglers.

  3. Chris says:

    The Hurricane and Fire Survival Guide by Cloud Cult. 🙂 When I saw them in concert, Craig Minowa (lead singer & songwriter) explained that, for his grandmother, “poop” was the absolutely worst word she would say. Knowing that always has me smiling when I’m singing along with this one now!

  4. […] Magical Musical Mondays (and a contest!) […]

  5. Chris says:

    Transistor Radio by Cloud Cult.

    Yes, I love Cloud Cult. They have some sad songs, but they have a lot more happy, thoughtful songs. 🙂

  6. Larry says:

    In second place — for me — would be “Zip-a-Dee Doo-Dah”. That song always brings a smile to my face.

    But the song that I submit to you to really make me feel happy is
    “Kites are Fun” by the Free Design. Regardless of my mood it always cheers me up and takes me “a zillion miles away …” from wherever I am.

  7. […] giving away some of her lovely handmade cards. You can enter daily and the winner will be announced on August 1. To enter, leave a comment with a […]

  8. […] Magical Musical Mondays (and a contest!) […]

  9. sprite says:

    I have a couple playlists just filled with songs that keep me moving — whether physically or emotionally. I agree that they’re really helpful.

    Anyway, “Accidentally in Love” by the Counting Crows and “The World Ain’t Slowing Down” by Ellis Paul usually require public dancing on my part when they come up on my iPod. I highly recommend both.

  10. Chris says:

    Well, since you are not feeling well today, I’ll have to recommend Take Your Medicine by Cloud Cult.

  11. mrspao says:

    Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves is a really good mood-lifting song 🙂

    I’ve been feeling a tiny bit low recently and I’ve found busting out of the house and getting myself to the seaside has helped immensely!

  12. Chris says:

    And now for silly! “William Shakespeare’s in My Cat” by the Arrogant Worms – if you go to this page and search for the title, you can listen to the song.

Leave a Reply

