The End of an Era

So, here we are, at the end of the Potter era. (I know, the final book’s been out a while, but I’m going to see the last movie tomorrow, and that brings it up again.) And whether you love the books, hate them, or haven’t even read one page, it’s hard to deny that they got kids READING again. Oh, who am I kidding? They got PEOPLE reading again. Kids, adults, everyone.

Granted, to me this is a strange concept. I never STOPPED reading. (My mom tried to get me to stop reading while walking up and down stairs, but that didn’t work.) I have a hard time imagining a world without fiction. And so, in a Friday-Reads-style blog post, here are ten of my favorite YA fiction books or series for those who miss Harry Potter. (I have done this before, but it’s worth repeating.) They are in no particular order. Just whatever I thought of first.

I’m not going to write anything about them this time. If you’re curious, Google and Wikipedia are your friends. Or you can ask me. I’ll tell you why I like particular books if you’re curious enough to ask.  🙂

  1. The Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce
  2. Princess of the Midnight Ball and Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George
  3. The Harper Hall trilogy by Anne McCaffrey
  4. The Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
  6. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (I can accept is as a YA book, though not as children’s fiction)
  7. The Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising trilogies by Kelley Armstrong (Only one of the Darkness Rising books has been released yet, but I have read two and so can confidently say I approve of the trilogy as a whole.)
  8. The Girl With Silver Eyes by Willo Davis Roberts (potentially more of a children’s book than YA… it’s been a LONG time since I read it)
  9. Sorcery and Cecelia: or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer
  10. The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede
4 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. Carrie#K says:

    I’ve only read the Hobbit (etc) and the Narnia Chronicles of that list, although I have the whole knight series by Tamora Pierce.

    I can’t imagine not reading either but I do remember occasionally being triumphant that I’d managed to go a day without, here and there. I might have been taken to task for having my nose in a book all the time.

  2. Dorien says:

    I loved reading, I read even during dinner time, book next to my plate! Lucky for me I had parents who never stopped me, even though I have never seen my mother reading a book.

  3. Chris says:

    I’ve read 3-7. I like the Chronicles of Narnia, too, although I twigged to the religious symbolism at age 8. Oh, and some of the Edward Eager books. And Andrew Lang’s fairytale series.

Leave a Reply

